cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

can't get data

middleton292

can't get data

hello newbie here my new sim works fine calls,texts,,wifi,but whatever i try i can't get data to work a simple explanation of how to fix if possible thank you. looked around the forum and best solution i can find is sending mike williams a pm why should this be.thanks again.

8 REPLIES 8
OliGaffney
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Fixes: 7

Re: can't get data

Hi @middleton292!

Thank you for getting in touch!

I'm really sorry to hear that your data isn't working straight away.

The most likely cause of this is something in your phone's settings.

Please try and make the following changes if you can, with your date turned on & WiFi turned off.

If you have an Android phone, please try and amend the following settings:

1. Go to Menu > Settings > Wireless & Networks (or More) > Mobile Networks > Access Point Names > Menu > New APN

2. Without changing any other settings, type in the following info:

Name: EE Internet
    APN: everywhere
    Username: eesecure
    Password: secure
    MMSC: http://mms/
    MMS Proxy: 149.254.201.135
    MMS Port: 8080
    Authentication type: PAP
    APN type: If there's a choice, choose internet+mms. If the keyboard appears, type *

3. Tap Menu, then Save

4. To start your new APN, make sure the line is ticked or the radio button is lit by tapping on it.

5. Check the notification bar for 4G, H, 3G, E or G with up and down arrows beside it. That'll show your connection is working.

If you have an iPhone, there are a couple of different ways to change the settings, depending on the model.

Please try resetting the network first, to do this, you just need to go to:

Menu > Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings.

Let me know how you get on! There are a few other things we can look at if these don't fix it straight away!

Thank you

-Oli

AndyTop