cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

martindavies
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎15-11-2023

Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

I've just moved to Australia for 15 months and having to do this switch to EE. I've tried signing up via the discount codes which takes me to EE which then asks if I want to keep my number get a PAC code - can't do this abroad. Can't continue the registration.

How do I transfer to the EE £6/mo for 5Gb sim only plan from PN whilst keeping my phone number?

Can't phone any UK numbers as don't have international calls and roaming is crazy expensive. No online chat available that I've found and haven't found an email address. Plus I don't know if it's PN I need to talk to about this or EE...

Many thanks for any help! 

27 REPLIES 27
willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Afternoon @martindavies you've come to the right place to sort this out! I can get you one sorted but I just need to get the details so I shall drop into your DM to sort it,

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
louispride
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-12-2023

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Hi @willcutforth.

I am experiencing the exact same issue and also want to switch to the same package.

Could you drop me a DM as well please.
adamwalker
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 16,899
Thanks: 886
Fixes: 221
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Hi @louispride 

 

I've just sent you a PM, please drop me a reply when you can.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
janesaunders123
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-12-2023

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Hi Adam,

I am Louis’s mother.

Please can you private message me the details please.

Kind regards,

Jane
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,474
Thanks: 5,978
Fixes: 424
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Unless something has changed that I'm not aware of, its not possible to switch networks whilst abroad. The new SIM card MUST register on the new UK network for the transfer to complete.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

janesaunders123
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-12-2023

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Hi,

I appreciate the feedback.

However, whilst my son is abroad, I am in the U.K.

So it is possible to switch his SIM card for him.

Kind regards,

Jane
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,474
Thanks: 5,978
Fixes: 424
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Thanks for clarifying, it wasn't obvious from the previous posts that the SIM card was still in the UK.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

BlackGrouse
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎05-12-2023

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Hi, I'm in the same boat. In Hong Kong until May. My phone is eSim compatible if that will work?

Thanks for any help
MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,962
Thanks: 1,570
Fixes: 481
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Hi @BlackGrouse 

As @MisterW has advised you'd need to be in the UK for the transfer to work

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
BlackGrouse
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎05-12-2023

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Thanks, do you have any practical advice on how I can switch and keep my number please.
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,474
Thanks: 5,978
Fixes: 424
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

You will need to get the SIM back to the UK and get a friend or relative to insert it into a spare phone. Then request a PAC and initiate the transfer. Once the transfer is complete , then send the sim back to you.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

BlackGrouse
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎05-12-2023

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Thanks. If a physical SIM is registered in the UK could an eSim then be used in HK?
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,474
Thanks: 5,978
Fixes: 424
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

You'd have to ask the new provider about that, PN never supported eSIM. However I doubt it would be possible, even if the new provider supported them,  since you would still need to activate the new eSim , for which I suspect it would need to be on the UK network ?

 

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Andrew_S
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-02-2024

Re: Switch from PN to EE from Australia - PAC code abroad

Hi,

I also need to get a PAC code and I am currently in Australia.

I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me and offer some guidance.

Thank you very much.

Andrew