cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Porting problems and degraded data connections. Incompetence, disinterest and shoddy service.

Ian_Middleton
Hooked

Porting problems and degraded data connections. Incompetence, disinterest and shoddy service.

Bear with me on this.  It's a long post, but it's been a long journey and it's not over yet.  I've kept a detailed diary of events so far since I had the misfortune to take Plusnet up on their very attractive SIM only deal.  I thought it might be valuable information for anyone else who's considering the same.  I'm a business journalist so I'll also be forwarding this to a number of technology magazines and probably setting up a webpage Facebook group to try to collate similar experiences to mine. Maybe together we can drag this dog and pony show into some semblance of the kind of customer service they claim to provide in their adverts.

Plusnet – We'll Do You Over – A Tale of Two Fingers - The story so far

16th Feb

I order my SIM by phone as the website refuses to work.  I also arrange the port and give the PAC code at the same time.

I finally get the website working and order a SIM for my partner although I don’t ask for a port at this stage for her, just in case the stories of porting problems I've read about are true.

17th Feb

2 SIMs arrive from Plusnet.  Just 'pop them in' says the cheery pretend northern chap on the envelope.  I put mine in but it's not yet been activated.

Saturday 18th Feb

Email confirmation arrives that the SIMs were active so I install mine again and it works fine both on voice and 4G. So far so good.

Monday 20th Feb

My original O2 Sim goes offline in the morning.  I am encouraged.

I gave it half a day and checked to see which number was working on the new PlusNet SIM.  It is still the PlusNet number.  I am less encouraged.

Tuesday 21st Feb

No change and still no port.

Weds 22nd Feb