cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Number ported but no data

philbean
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Number ported but no data

New customer.

Number ported over today from Virgin.

Number OK. Calls and texts seem to be working fine but no mobile data.

 

Read a few threads on here and the FAQs and done everything I can think of..

Sim out/in a few times. Rebooted a few times.
Mobile data is deffo turned on.
Checked APN settings. Done a network settings reset a couple of times.
Manually changed network and back again.

Nothing.
Full bars at top of screen with '3G' or '4G' showing but no data connection.

Old Virgin SIM was working fine data-wise.
Tried the new PN SIM in a different phone.  No data on that either.  So it seems to be the SIM or something on my account?

 

Help!  Sad

45 REPLIES 45
philbean
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Number ported but no data

Update...

I thought texting was working as I can receive SMSs.... but now I find I cannot send texts.

 

It just fails with the error message "sms phone number formatted incorrectly"

The numbers ARE correct and I've tried with 0 and with +44 but they dont work.

Checked the SMS Centre number and its correct as shown on the PN FAQ page.

 

Seriously unimpressed at the moment.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 562
Thanks: 100
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Number ported but no data

 

Hello @philbean I am deeply sorry to hear you are having issues using your mobile data service and sending out a text message.

 

Can you please Private Message me the following details:- 

 

- Your full name

- Your mobile number

- Your full home address, including postcode

 

Please comment on this thread once you have sent me a PM.

 

Kind regards.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Wakas Hussain
 Plusnet Help Team
philbean
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Number ported but no data

Thanks 

 

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 920
Thanks: 97
Fixes: 40
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Number ported but no data

Hey @philbean,

 

I've just picked up your PM and asked for further info, once you reply please let us know here.

 

Thanks.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Maddy S
 Plusnet Help Team


philbean
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Number ported but no data

Details sent by PM

thanks

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 562
Thanks: 100
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Number ported but no data

Hello @philbean I have responded to your PM,

 

Please let us know if you need any further assistance.

 

Best wishes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Wakas Hussain
 Plusnet Help Team
philbean
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Number ported but no data

Yes. Further assistance please.
I tried everything you suggested already. Still no data service.
philbean
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Number ported but no data

Just noticed my "Mobile Network State : disconnected" even when I have WiFi off.
Tried a friend's Sky sim in my phone and that says 'connected'
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 736
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Number ported but no data

Hi @philbean

 

We've check with our mobile operations team and all the APN settings match up back end, and all the services are marked as active on our systems too. I'm afraid it looks like a profile issue on EEs systems so we'll have to send off a form to them to get this corrected. As convoluted as this may seem can you send one of the online staff a PM completing the form below and we'll get it resolved for you:

 

Has the SIM been tried in another handset:

 

Other Handset Make:

 

Other Handset Model:

 

Sim Swapped:

 

Intermittent or Persistent:

 

Your Handset Make & Model:

 

Has the service ever worked?:

 

Location Occuring:

 

Issue Start Date:

 

Issue Experienced On:

 

Error Message:

 

Examples:
Example 1
Date:
Time:
Service Attempted:
Phone Number (if applicable):
Error that occurred:

 

Example 2
Date:
Time:
Service Attempted:
Phone Number (if applicable):
Error that occurred:

 

Example 3
Date:
Time:
Service Attempted:
Phone Number (if applicable):
Error that occurred:

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Joe
 Plusnet Help Team
philbean
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Number ported but no data

Have completed the form.

Any idea how long EE will take to look at this?  Because I'm already starting to think about cancelling and asking for my PAC.

philbean
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Number ported but no data

Sent some examples as requested

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 736
Thanks: 206
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Number ported but no data

@philbean,

 

Thanks for the PMs. I've sent off that form to be issued to EE for resolution. We won't get anything back now until probably Monday. We'll let you know once we have something. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Joe
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
RobC
Pro
Posts: 865
Thanks: 142
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎03-12-2016

Re: Number ported but no data

@JOLO 

 

This does seem to be a rather widespread and long ongoing issue with ports at least in (likely also with ports out, some new accounts and amending accounts too) that seems to indicate a possible significant, long standing and ongoing issue with PN-EE's account creation 'systems' at the very least which should have long ago been sorted by any even part way competent company.

 

Although it may be EE 'back end' systems that this issue resides on, the requirement and responsibility for correct porting, creating and amending customers account info (whatever system it resides on) would clearly seem to be the responsibility of plusnet with whom the customers have the agreement.

Check with your legal representation.  it could be a BIG bill.

 

 

Its seems to me that every single one of these incidents could be a failure to properly complete the porting process within one day

- and as such every customer affected is likely entitled to compensation and proper communication under the general conditions

- and PN could possibly be systematically failing the required processes in a number of areas.

It seems PN failed ME personally at least once, and quite possibly twice in this regard.

 

 

That PN apparently continue to allow this to continue effectively unaddressed, let alone requiring customers to jump through hoops despite it apparently being a widespread and long term and quite possibly identified issue, seems arguably 'not treating customers fairly' as well as failing more tightly defined general requirements.

 

That your agreements with EE expects you to jump through hoops seems to me to be no excuse whatsoever.

 

Should you get your tech/ee tech to talk enough to resolve this issue rather than leave it to customers to try to identify it again and again and again - I suggest you check why PN accounts aren't being closed properly too, especially all those where the customer didn't bother checking after leaving, as the issues are likely closely connected. Much as that might affect your 'number of customers' figures.

That 'other issue would also seem to be 'known' as it appears to be part of one of Your/EE's customer account 'clean up' processes which clears account balances without refunding the customer.

 

As a side note it might even improve your customers perception of your competence as a supplier.

 

Show us ONE just ONE real, defined benefit for the British public from Brexit
Other than: Bankrupt businesses, Devalued currency, Chlorine bleached chicken, Climate Science Denial, Milk from infected udders and the NHS sold to US pharmaceuticals and insurance companies?

Brexit - Built from Bovine Manure by Bots
philbean
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 5
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: Number ported but no data

Any update on this yet ?