cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

jaeneas
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 05-07-2017

Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

Hi, I joined PlusNet towards the end of last month, June 2017. Switching from EE.

I got my new SIM and ported in fine with my old number etc.

Since then I have not bee able to get mobile data.

On the original SIM I checked the APN setting using the Online and over the phone to customer services.
I have also been through a process of checking mobile connect once very two hours within a 48 hour period, logging the details and reporting back to Customer Services the details.

I have also checked that the SIM did not work in another phone, different make.
Once I had been through the technical process I was sent another SIM card out.

This is just the same! No mobile data,

I have checked that my phone is OK to get Data on another network, it is. And that my new PlusNet SIM does not work in a different phone, it doesn't.

is there a recurring problem or do I need to move suppliers again?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 REPLIES
Anonymous
N/A

Re: Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

Hi @jaeneas

 

It's a shame to hear about all the issues you've been unable to use your data since the port has completed. There are some other options we can take a look into for you, before you'd need to contemplate cancelling. If you drop me a Private Message I'd be able to take a look into this for you. 

jaeneas
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 05-07-2017

Re: Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

This is getting ridiculous, do I really need to ring up with six more examples of my unsuccessful attempts to connect to data? Is there no one available for me to send them too?

Seriously if this is not sorted out by the end of the week I will not only be seeking compensation but leaving. 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 548
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 23
Registered: 25-11-2016

Re: Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

Hi jaeneas!

Thanks for getting in touch with us!

I'm really sorry to hear about this and I'd like to help! Which handset have you got at the moment?

- Rebeka 

 Rebeka Preston
 Plusnet Help Team
jaeneas
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 05-07-2017

Re: Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

Thanks for the reply Rebeka.

 

it is a Sony Z5

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 548
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 23
Registered: 25-11-2016

Re: Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

Thanks jaeneas!

If possible, there are some troubleshooting steps that i'd like you to try. 

Can you please try manually searching and connecting to a network? You can do this by: 

  • From the home screen, tap on All Apps
  • tap Settings
  • tap More
  • tap Mobile networks
  • tap Network operators
  • tap Search mode
  • select Manual
  • once available networks have been discovered, tap the network you wish to connect to (Plusnet/EE).

If the above does not resolve the issue, can you please try manually searching for a network again and if given an option, connect to any other network that differs from EE/Plusnet. Once you've done this, leave it for a couple of minutes and then go back and select EE/Plusnet.

You may need to re-boot your handset once you've done this. You can do this by:

  • Turning the handset off
  • Taking the SIM card out
  • Leaving it for a couple of minutes
  • Replacing the SIM card
  • Turning the handset back on

- Rebeka 

 Rebeka Preston
 Plusnet Help Team
jaeneas
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 05-07-2017

Re: Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

Rebeka

 

I have just been through these processes, but nothing coming through.

 

Jon

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 548
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 23
Registered: 25-11-2016

Re: Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

Hi Jon!

Just one more step, can you please delete any previous or current APN settings on your handset? You can do this by:

  1. Tap the Apps icon.
  2. Tap More...
  3. Tap Mobile Networks.
  4. Tap Access Point Names.
  5. Tap the Menu button.
  6. Tap Reset to default.
  7. Tap the Home key to return to the home screen.

Your handset may require another re-boot after this process.

- Rebeka 

 Rebeka Preston
 Plusnet Help Team
jaeneas
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 05-07-2017

Re: Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

Rebeka

I have reset the APNs, selected the EE Internet and restarted the phone - no data.

I have deleted the APNs, restarted the phone, selected EE internet - no data.

 

Jon

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 548
Thanks: 102
Fixes: 23
Registered: 25-11-2016

Re: Mobiel Data Problems On New SIM

Hi Jon!

Can you please send me a Private Message with your details and I can look further into this for you. 

- Rebeka 

 Rebeka Preston
 Plusnet Help Team