cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Email problems on iPhone 5C

Rosie7
Hooked

Email problems on iPhone 5C

I have an iPhone 5c and can send emails but it will not receive incoming on my second plusnet email account. I have checked all the settings (even with Apple) and they are all correct. Have tried deleting account and resetting it and it still doesn't work. It works on my Plusnet account email but not on my second email address which is the only one I really use. It also works on my Gmail account. Any suggestions?  Plusnet say it's nothing to do with them - must be the phone!!!!

13 REPLIES 13
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 393

Re: Email problems on iPhone 5C

I'm not an iPhone expert but I suspect it's down to a wrong username/password in the incoming server configuration. There's a detailed ( but old ) setup guide here https://www.plus.net/help/archive/email/ios-setup/ . For additional mailboxes the username is accountname+mailboxname, click the 'I don't know what these are'  against the Username & password details for the Incoming server in the link above for a detailed explanation.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Rosie7
Hooked

Thanks for your reply but all details have been checked multiple times and all entries are as they should be. Even the Apple tech guy went through everything on screen share and he couldn't find anything wrong! I am beginning to think it's because the iPhone 5c is possibly a bit outdated. Hope to change the phone next month so let's hope that cures the problem.  The email works fine on both my iPad and iMac so I know the setting are correct.

MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Fixes: 479

Thanks for getting in touch @Rosie7

I'm sorry to hear you're having issues with your e-mails.

Can you confirm if you're getting a specific error that pops up?