cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data on Roaming in New York query

Siouxhealer
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎18-07-2018

Data on Roaming in New York query

Simple enough query I hope.
I have a rolling monthly contract that allows me 3.5 Gb of data. I'm visiting New York soon and want to know if roaming will work with my data allowance if I need it? I'm not expecting to make or receive any calls so that's not an issue. I'll try to hook on to WiFi wherever I can but would like the security of data should I need it.

Using a global Redmi Note 4 - if that makes any difference.

 

Thanks in advance for any help

5 REPLIES 5
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,474
Thanks: 5,978
Fixes: 424
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Data on Roaming in New York query

You can find the roaming charges here https://www.plus.net/help/mobile/roaming-and-international-calls/

any data usage when roaming in the USA would be chargeable

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Alex
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,500
Thanks: 921
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Data on Roaming in New York query

That only applies within the EU now.

So at New York it won't. You'd have to pay roaming data charges.

Just looking at the PlusNet pages, you'd be paying £8 per MB if I am correct. Shocked

That is not cheap, so I would use if sparingly - if at all.

Otherwise when you'll come back to the UK you will have a hefty bill you won't be pleased about.

I would turn data roaming off on my device, and just use Wi-Fi. If you really need to, you've got the option of turning it on if you want to use it but only as a last resort backup.

Put it this way - unless you're a recent lottery winner, then don't watch YouTube on mobile data in New York!

Siouxhealer
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎18-07-2018

Re: Data on Roaming in New York query

LOL thanks for the replies guys. 

That's what I was wondering Alex. Although I have set a £10 cap so it would cut off and not lump me with a huge bill thankfully. That's how I usually use data only activating it when I need it. Lets hope the hotel wifi is up to snuff!
Hubby is on a different provider so his may be a better option.

rogill
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎17-07-2018

Re: Data on Roaming in New York query

You can always use the wifi in McDonalds  in the USA and certainly in New York.

There are plenty of them !

Alex
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,500
Thanks: 921
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Data on Roaming in New York query

I would be very careful with caps too.

If they don’t work, you can easily assume they are and have a shock bill if you’re wrong.

My advice is to just use Wi-Fi and disable data roaming on your device. So it doesn’t do something behind the scenes (without you asking it to) like downloading your e-mail in the background.

Only use data roaming if you really really need to.