cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

4G or not 4G

Bleakers64
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago

4G or not 4G

I’ve had a sim from PN for a couple of years and it’s always been ok, now transferred into an iPhone XR and pulling 4G quite happily.
Now got a second sim just before Christmas and it had 4G in spasms, but generally 3G or E or edge or even GPRS. Swapped sims between phones and they behave the same whichever phone they’re in, ie the one that gets 4G gets it whichever phone it’s in, the one that doesn’t get it , just doesn’t get it so as to speak.
Any clues anyone?
Cheers, Bleakers
49 REPLIES
RobC
Rising Star
Posts: 184
Thanks: 29
Registered: ‎03-12-2016

Re: 4G or not 4G


@Bleakers64 wrote:
Swapped sims between phones and they behave the same whichever phone they’re in, ie the one that gets 4G gets it whichever phone it’s in, the one that doesn’t get it , just doesn’t get it so as to speak.
Any clues anyone?
Cheers, Bleakers

Yes

Plusnet messed up the profile associated with the sim that just doesn't get it.

(Not the on sim profile (probably) - the one in their systems)

 

- so replacing the sim probably wont make a darned bit of difference - unless a fresh correct profile is set up for the new sim and its not just 'pointed' to the same duff profile

 

Seems an all too common occurrence.

 

 

They built their systems from sausage rolls
- and you wonder why you cant connect ?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 328
Thanks: 38
Fixes: 15
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: 4G or not 4G

Hello @Bleakers64

 

I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing this issue with your mobile. Please could you try the following to see if it helps resolve the issue?

 

1.

Turn the handset off

Take the SIM card out

Leave it for a couple of minutes

Replace the SIM card

Turn the handset back on again

It's important to remove the SIM from the handset entirely, to allow it to disconnect and establish a new connection to the network upon re-boot.

 

2.

Reset network settings:

Tap Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings.

 

3.

Delete old network profiles:

Settings > General > Profiles > Select the profile you wish to remove and tap Delete Profile.

 

4.

Check for any issues by popping over to the following link and inputting your postcode:

https://myaccount.ee.co.uk/networkchecker/checkservice

 

5.

Manually disconnecting from the network:

Can you please try manually searching for a network and if given an option, attempt to connect to any other network that differs from EE/Plusnet. Once you've done this, leave it for a couple of minutes and then go back and select EE/Plusnet.

 

6.

Ensure handset isn't set to allow for 3G only.

 

7.

Try the SIM in another handset that is unlocked to all networks.

 

8.

Delete any old APN settings and insert the following:

Android

Go to Menu > Settings > Wireless & Networks (or More) > Mobile Networks > Access Point Names > Menu > New APN

Without changing any other settings, type in the following info:

 

Name: EE Internet

APN: everywhere

Username: eesecure

Password: secure

MMSC: http://mms/

MMS Proxy: 149.254.201.135

MMS Port: 8080

Authentication type: PAP

APN type: If there's a choice, choose internet+mms. If the keyboard appears, type *

 

Tap Menu, then Save

To start your new APN, make sure the line is ticked or the radio button is lit by tapping on it.

Check the notification bar for 4G, H, 3G, E or G with up and down arrows beside it. That'll show your connection is working.

 

9.

iPhone

Go to Settings > Mobile or Cellular > Mobile Data Network or Cellular Data Network > Access Point Names > Menu > New APN.

Without changing any other settings, type in the following info:

 

For Mobile data:

APN: everywhere

Username: eesecure

Password: secure

 

For MMS:

APN: eezone

Username: eesecure

Password: secure

MMSC: http://mms/

MMS Proxy: 149.254.201.135:8080

MMS Max Message Size: 1048576

 

Tap the left arrow at the top three times, then press the home button.

Check the notification bar for 4G, 3G, E or GPRS. That'll show your connection is working.

 

10.

Check for any updates and ensure the handset has been updated to the latest software.

 

Should you require any further assistance, please do get back in touch with us.

 

Kind regards.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Wakas Hussain
 Plusnet Help Team
Bleakers64
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: 4G or not 4G

Hi, thanks for the information, the question is how to get it resolved.

I contacted PN via chat the other night and it seemed that they were sure the problem is with the phone...

I’m sure the problem isn’t the phone as like I said, the sim does occasionally seem to get 4G but blink and you miss it...

Frustrating as not getting the service I am paying for...
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,972
Thanks: 280
Fixes: 83
Registered: ‎27-04-2007

Re: 4G or not 4G

Hi there, with your cooperation there may be a few things we need to try to get the issue resolved. 

 

Could you give what Wakas has suggested a try please?

 

Adam 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Bleakers64
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: 4G or not 4G

Hi, so going through them.....

 

1.

Turn the handset off

Take the SIM card out

Leave it for a couple of minutes

Replace the SIM card

Turn the handset back on again

It's important to remove the SIM from the handset entirely, to allow it to disconnect and establish a new connection to the network upon re-boot.

 

Check, no change.

 

 

2.

Reset network settings:

Tap Settings > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings.

 

 

Check, no change

 

 

3.

Delete old network profiles:

Settings > General > Profiles > Select the profile you wish to remove and tap Delete Profile.

 

No such setting on an iPhone SE (this phone) Profiles as a title is not visible.

 

 

4.

Check for any issues by popping over to the following link and inputting your postcode:

https://myaccount.ee.co.uk/networkchecker/checkservice

 

 

My wifes PN sim showing 4G just about one metre from my phone, so that suggests no issues

 

5.

Manually disconnecting from the network:

Can you please try manually searching for a network and if given an option, attempt to connect to any other network that differs from EE/Plusnet. Once you've done this, leave it for a couple of minutes and then go back and select EE/Plusnet.

 

Check, no change

 

6.

Ensure handset isn't set to allow for 3G only.

 

In mobile data option, enable 4G, set to voice and data, data roaming on

 

 

7.

Try the SIM in another handset that is unlocked to all networks.

 

Yep, shows 3G, put it in the iPhone XR and still shows 3G

 

8.

Delete any old APN settings and insert the following:

Android

 

Not Android, not relevant

 

9.

iPhone

Go to Settings > Mobile or Cellular > Mobile Data Network or Cellular Data Network > Access Point Names > Menu > New APN.

Without changing any other settings, type in the following info:

 

For Mobile data:

APN: everywhere

Username: eesecure

Password: secure

 

For MMS:

APN: eezone

Username: eesecure

Password: secure

MMSC: http://mms/

MMS Proxy: 149.254.201.135:8080

MMS Max Message Size: 1048576

 

Tap the left arrow at the top three times, then press the home button.

Check the notification bar for 4G, 3G, E or GPRS. That'll show your connection is working.

 

No such menu exists

 

 

10.

Check for any updates and ensure the handset has been updated to the latest software.

 

Latest updates installed

 

So, any suggestions?

I am stuck with 3G

 

 

Bleakers64
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: 4G or not 4G

Hi Adam,

 

who was Wakes.?

 

cheers

RobC
Rising Star
Posts: 184
Thanks: 29
Registered: ‎03-12-2016

Re: 4G or not 4G

 

@Bleakers64

I seem to recall some obscure option with iphones to delete a previous network profile which causes issues with some iphones.

 

Not an Iphoner so cant remember the detail.

It relates to some iphones not showing the apparently more usual way to edit apn profiles and old network profiles causing issues

 

They built their systems from sausage rolls
- and you wonder why you cant connect ?
Bleakers64
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: 4G or not 4G

Cheers for that, but it’s fully unlocked and had a full data and settings reset, which should set it back to factory defaults?

 

very frustrating.....

RobC
Rising Star
Posts: 184
Thanks: 29
Registered: ‎03-12-2016

Re: 4G or not 4G

If the phone has been fully reset,

Keeps pointing back to your (that sims) PN profile not correctly set, (eg 4g option set to 3g only) which will require tech staff to resolve in their systems and no amount of changing the phone and restarting will make the blindest bit of difference.

 

 Only other possible issue is that the tower you are connected to doesn't allow 4g connection through PN

- duh forget that - other sim is fine

 

 

They built their systems from sausage rolls
- and you wonder why you cant connect ?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 560
Thanks: 63
Fixes: 25
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: 4G or not 4G

Hello @Bleakers64,

 

I am very sorry to hear that you are still having this issue and I apologise for the frustration caused. 

Thanks for trying those steps. The next step would be to collate 3 examples of this issue occurring within 48 hours and send this to our operations team for further investigation.

 

Before we do the above, we need to pass security on your mobile account. Please could you provide:

 

- Your full name and confirmation you are the account holder

- Your full address with postcode

- Your mobile number

- Your account reference (if you have it handy)

 

Via PM.

 

Once you have sent this please give us a nudge here so we can pick it up as soon as possible.

 

 Thank you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Maddy S
 Plusnet Help Team


Bleakers64
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: 4G or not 4G

Hi Mads,

PM sent...

 

Not sure what you mean by collate 3 examples within 48 hours?

The phone seems a little more settled in that it’s keeping 3G rather than dropping to Edge, E or even GPRS, but seeing as I was expecting 4G....

 

cheers, any help appreciated 

Bleakers

RobC
Rising Star
Posts: 184
Thanks: 29
Registered: ‎03-12-2016

Re: 4G or not 4G


@Mads wrote:

Hello @Bleakers64,

 

Thanks for trying those steps. The next step would be to collate 3 examples of this issue occurring within 48 hours and send this to our operations team for further investigation.

 

How do you send three examples of it NOT having 4g?

 

@Bleakers64

This seems to be the Plusnet Fob Off for at least a week response, because in 5 days plus the odds are

* Nothing will have changed

* No one will have contacted you

* No one will know anything about it if you call them

 

You will be trapped in the Plusnet Fob Off loop -

Fob-Off:

Give 3 new examples and call back in 5 days

Goto Fob-Off:

 

 

I found the other iphone settings thing.

Settings

--> General

-->> Profiles and Device Management

delete old network carrier profile

 

Probably not relevant as your other sim works fine, but worth a try.

I've seen reported claims that even a reset doesn't clear some of these.

They built their systems from sausage rolls
- and you wonder why you cant connect ?
Bleakers64
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Registered: 2 weeks ago

Re: 4G or not 4G

Thanks Rob,

If I go into settings / general / profiles it’s empty, nothing there.....

 

So frustrating when one sim is working fine and the other doesn’t....

I’ll wait and see what the tech team can come up with, but not holding my breath it will be a quick fix....

 

Bleakers 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 810
Thanks: 169
Fixes: 36
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: 4G or not 4G

@RobC - I assure you, we are not attempting to "fob off" OP in any way. We are just following the steps needed to diagnose the issues present. Whilst I understand you may have had frustrating issues/experiences with your own services where you may have felt this happened, I can promise that it would not have been intentional. We do our very best to assist all customers with all issues.

 

How do you send three examples of it NOT having 4g?

This would be something along the line of; 

 

Example 

Date: 
Time: 
Service Attempted: (Data - App/Browser etc)
Phone Number (if applicable) : (this would not be applicable for a data issue) 
Error that occurred: (for example, no data connection)

Post Code:

 

The reason we ask for 3 of these is due to our Operations team requiring this amount of examples to send off to the relevant department to investigate the issue - without 3 examples this task would be pushed back on due to insufficient information included. 

 

The examples can all be from the same location if required, however, if OP has noticed this at multiple postcodes (home, work etc) this would be beneficial. 

 

The reason behind the 48 hour restriction is due to the amount of time that we are able to historically check for service affecting issues on an individual account / handset basis. 

 

@Bleakers64 - I'll check in with @Mads and see if she has received you PM, but it may be beneficial and speed up the diagnostic process if you could send her a 2nd one with 3 examples such as I have mentioned above. 

 

Thanks, 

MoR

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team