cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ipv6 Modems and Routers

brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

ipv6 Modems and Routers

ipv6 Modems and Routers
The following is a list of Modem/Routers, Modems and Routers those in ipv6 trial are using (mostly successfully)
Modem/Router
Billion 7800N - 1.06e - OK with fixed IP addresses. Sometimes works, mostly not with dynamic IP addresses (investigation in progress).
Cisco 837 - IOS c837-k9o3sy6-mz.124-25d
ZyXEL P-2612HNU-F1 - Unknown firmware
Zyxel 660HN-T1 - Unknown firmware - kind of works, see Reply #7 below, from Bob Pullen
Cisco 877W with firmware -  C870 Software (C870-ADVIPSERVICESK9-M), Version 15.1(3)T
Fritz!Box 7390 - Unknown firmware
Modem
Netgear DM111+ - 3.30j - bridged mode
Thomson TG585v8 - Unknown firmware - bridged mode
Vigor 120 - 3.2.4.4 - full pppoa <-> pppoe bridge mode  - provisionally working
Router
Netgear WNDR3700v2 + OoenWRT firmware - provisionally working
Unknown
Netgear DG384GT & DG384G (v3) - Using Bridge Mode PPP session via windows 7 64bit

If those on the trial let me know of any other hardware they are successfully using I will attempt to keep this list updated.
PB
16 REPLIES 16
dave
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,170
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: ipv6 Hardware

I'm using a ZyXEL P-2612HNU-F1 which works fine. On the device side got a Macbook Pro and an iPad 2.
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
avatastic
Grafter
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ipv6 Hardware

Do you want a list of things that have a bridged operating mode that works? If so, add the Netgear DM111+.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
dave
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,170
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: ipv6 Hardware

Thomson TG585v8 also works in bridge mode.
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: ipv6 Hardware

I thought it would be useful to create a list of modem/router hardware that those on the trial are using successfully.
It would help if you could let me know which category your hardware falls into (Modem/Router, Modem, Router or Unknown).
The firmware version may also be useful, the Billion 7800N I am using did not have ipv6 capability until I upgraded the firmware.
Client systems e.g. Windows 7, Vista, Linux (various flavours), Android, iOS, etc could have their own list, are there any volunteers?
PB
avatastic
Grafter
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: ipv6 Hardware

Netgear DM111 (firmware 3.30j) Modem in bridged mode.
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)
dave
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 12,170
Thanks: 19
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: ipv6 Hardware

Thanks Pete, started a list of devices and operating systems in a separate thread.
ZyXEL P-2612HNU-F1 - it's a dual WAN wireless modem/router
Thomson TG585v8 - would have to go in the modem category at the moment
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,030
Thanks: 3,775
Fixes: 239
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: ipv6 Hardware

The Zyxel 660HN-T1 I have kind of works but it's exhibiting odd behaviour as per the thread here. The router doesn't seem to pick up a WAN IP address so isn't pingable across IPv6 (should it be?) The way it's set up also only seems to allow IPv6 connectivity from my Windows 7 box and no other devices on the network (like my Android 2.2 smartphone which I would have assumed would have worked).

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

AxeMurderer
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎18-05-2011

Re: ipv6 Hardware

Bob, try the Firefox browser on Android. Android IS IPv6 capable, but the standard browser (and Dolphin HD) is not. This is true on Android 2.1; I hoped 2.2 would be better but perhaps not.
brueton
Grafter
Posts: 312
Thanks: 7
Registered: ‎03-07-2009

Re: ipv6 Hardware

I am using the default browser on Android 2.3.3 via ipv6 with no problems.
Pete
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,030
Thanks: 3,775
Fixes: 239
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: ipv6 Hardware

No can do unfortunately as the Android phone I have uses an ARM processor that isn't supported by Firefox Mobile or any of the Fennec builds Sad

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Nibiru
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,797
Thanks: 424
Fixes: 11
Registered: ‎11-08-2007

Re: ipv6 Hardware

Quote
"A lot of routers at the moment are already capable of supporting IPv6. What they need is a firmware update," explained Richard Fletcher, chief operating officer at Plusnet, a UK internet service provider (ISP)
"ISPs should ship new routers or offer those updates. We are making sure all our fibre routers are ready for IPv6."
Mr Fletcher said that the long term nature of the changeover meant that customers of most ISPs would receive compatible equipment through the natural cycle of upgrades.

from http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-13685772
Maybe Fletch could contribute to this thread by listing his known list of IPv6 capable routers ?    Huh
Plusnet FTTC 80/20 IPv4/30, Hurricane Electric 6in4 IPv6/48, Pulse8 landline & calls, SamKnows 600N
Vigor 130 modem, pfSense 2.6.0 router, DrayTek WAPs, Devolo dLAN 500, Gigaset N300A-IP VoIP DECT
AxeMurderer
Grafter
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎18-05-2011

Re: ipv6 Hardware

Hmmm. Rather oddly, Firefox on Android 2.1, which was 10/10 for IPv6 a day or so ago, is 0/10 today.
MJN
Pro
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-08-2010

Re: ipv6 Hardware

Quote from: Bob
(like my Android 2.2 smartphone which I would have assumed would have worked).

I have IPv6 working fine here on 2.2(.1) on an HTC Incredible S. I don't recall having to do anything in particular with the config (and the address creation is standard RA auto-configuration - there's no DHCPv6 in use).
Mathew
Epyon
Grafter
Posts: 285
Registered: ‎31-03-2011

Re: ipv6 Modems and Routers

Netgear DG384GT & DG384G (v3)
Using Bridge Mode PPP session via windows 7 64bit