cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Zyxel 660HN-T1

bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,259
Thanks: 4,033
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Zyxel 660HN-T1

Well, this router is supposedly IPv6 compatible but after an hour of fiddling I can't get the WAN side to pick up an IPv6 address using one of Dave's test logins.
Settings attached, but I think I'm probably going to give it up as a bad cause. I've not tried tweaking much on my local machines as I don't suppose there's much point if the WAN side isn't being assigned an IPv6 addy?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

14 REPLIES 14
Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Try changing the IPv6 address on the first screenshot to 6to4 tunneling.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,259
Thanks: 4,033
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

That opens up the attached options but irrespective of the ones chosen, there's still no change to the WAN status Sad

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Chris
Legend
Posts: 17,724
Thanks: 599
Fixes: 169
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Strange, the settings are in a different place, but similar on the Netgear I've got.

Can you get connected on IPv4 with that username? Try that first and then start trying the IPv6 stuff.
Former Plusnet Staff member. Posts after 31st Jan 2020 are not on behalf of Plusnet.
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,259
Thanks: 4,033
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Yeah, IPv4 is working fine. The only other IPv6 specific settings in the router interface are specific to the LAN side.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

dave
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,178
Thanks: 49
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Is there anything on the LAN side settings?
Also make sure you enable DHCP Prefix Delegation (DHCP PD) on the WAN settings page.
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,259
Thanks: 4,033
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Have now enabled DHCP PD on the WAN side and attached are the available LAN side settings.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

dave
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,178
Thanks: 49
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Set it to delegate from WAN, that should be it. May need to re-auth to get assigned the IPv6 address.
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,259
Thanks: 4,033
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Thanks for the suggestions Dave. Set as attached and rebooted the router but sadly still no joy.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

dave
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,178
Thanks: 49
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

The prefix on the LAN page looks right, our range starts 2a02:16c8: so unless you entered that in before changing it to delegate something is working.
Has the PC picked up an IPv6 address? It might be delegating out but not assigned the WAN correctly. You could try filling in the IPv6 address boxes.
Prefix is 56, IPv6 address I would guess at something like 2a02:16c8:2000:5000:5267:f0ff:feeb:0304
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,259
Thanks: 4,033
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Quote from: dave
Has the PC picked up an IPv6 address? It might be delegating out but not assigned the WAN correctly. You could try filling in the IPv6 address boxes.

You mean the ones at the top of the first screengrab in the preceding post?
If so, tried that and ran an ipconfig. Doesn't look promising to me, but then as per my first post, I doubt I'll get anywhere anyway without a WAN side IPv6 address.
Ethernet adapter Atheros L1 Gigabit Ethernet:
  Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
  Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros L1 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000Ba
se-T Controller
  Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1B-FC-8E-9A-A2
  DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
  Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
  IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2a02:16c8:2000:5000::2(Preferred)
  Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 07 June 2011 21:57:06
  Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 07 June 2011 23:57:06
  Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9d1c:661c:2623:9b06%11(Preferred)
  IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.33(Preferred)
  Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
  Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 07 June 2011 21:57:07
  Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 10 June 2011 21:57:06
  Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
  DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
  DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 251665404
  DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-11-C0-06-00-1B-FC-8E-9A-A2
  DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
  Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
  Secondary WINS Server . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
  NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

dave
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,178
Thanks: 49
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Yeah  that's the one, it currently has fe80::1 in it. The PC has:
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2a02:16c8:2000:5000::2(Preferred)
so it's getting something.
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,259
Thanks: 4,033
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Right, explicitly set the IPv6 DNS servers to the Hurricane addresses on the DHCPv6 LAN side settings as per your post here. LAN settings are now as attached although I'll not pretend to understanding the relevance of the settings I entered as per your last suggestion Wink
Whilst the WAN status still shows no WAN side IPv6 address (it's blank), it certainly looks like something's working now! Cheesy
C:\Users\Bobby>tracert ipv6.bbc.co.uk
Tracing route to ipv6.bbc.co.uk [2001:4b10:bbc::2]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  2a02:16c8:2000:5000:5267:f0ff:feeb:304
  2    30 ms    29 ms    27 ms  2a02:16c8:0:1::1
  3    28 ms    29 ms    27 ms  2a02:16c8:1:8000::1
  4    27 ms    27 ms    27 ms  2a02:16c8::5
  5    27 ms    26 ms    28 ms  2001:7f8:4::1ad7:1
  6    27 ms    27 ms    27 ms  10gigabitethernet1-1.core1.lon1.he.net [2001:7f8
:4::1b1b:1]
  7    29 ms    38 ms    30 ms  2001:7f8:4::c8d:1
  8  222 ms  208 ms    58 ms  cr0-gi1-2.thdo.ipv6.bogons.net [2001:4b10:0:8001
::1]
  9    28 ms    28 ms    28 ms  ipv6.bbc.co.uk [2001:4b10:bbc::2]
Trace complete.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

dave
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 12,178
Thanks: 49
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

Woohoo!!
No idea why the WAN side doesn't work, maybe Mark who has the same router has had different results.
Dave Tomlinson
Enterprise Architect - Network & OSS
Plusnet Technology
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 16,259
Thanks: 4,033
Fixes: 258
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: Zyxel 660HN-T1

And after explicitly setting Hurricane's DNS address in the IPv6 NIC properties...

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵