cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PlusNet IPv6 with DrayTek 2750Vn

mwerle
Grafter
Posts: 87
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎14-01-2009

PlusNet IPv6 with DrayTek 2750Vn

Hello,
I've managed to get a trial login, connected fine (with IPv4), but haven't managed to get the IPv6 working on the router yet.
The DrayTek supports Link-local, static IPv6, DHCPv6 IA_PD, DHCPv6  IA_NA, and various tunnels. 
Using Link-local it appears to get a link-local address for the peer node (which I can then ping), but no public IPv6's.
Using DHCPv6 IA_PD with the SLA ID set to the default 16 seems to get me a public PlusNet IPv6 in the logs, but it fails to configure itself with it.
Just wondering if anybody has more information about how the PlusNet IPv6 addresses are assigned to devices - both the router as well as devices behind the router.  Apologies in advance if I missed the relevant forum post!
Thanks,
- Micha.
PS. Through my regular login I tunnel an IPv6 /48 subnet via SIXXS, which has been working perfectly for several years now.  Of course I disabled this tunnel before commencing PlusNet IPv6 testing..
5 REPLIES 5
mwerle
Grafter
Posts: 87
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎14-01-2009

Re: PlusNet IPv6 with DrayTek 2750Vn

Well, I played with it a bit more and got it working.
Set the SLA ID to 1 for DHCPv6  IA_PD (not 100% sure that made any difference) but more importantly after watching the logs to see what IPv6 prefix I got assigned I manually configured the LAN side of things so that my router runs a RADV daemon for that prefix.  Pity it doesn't seem pick it up automagically.
However, my LAN machines are now picking up global IPv6's without a problem.
http://test-ipv6.com/ reports the following for my desktop machine:
Quote
Your IPv4 address on the public Internet appears to be 81.174.168.207
Your IPv6 address on the public Internet appears to be 2a02:16c8:2000:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xx19
World IPv6 day is June 8th, 2011. No problems are anticipated for you with this browser, at this location. [more info]
Congratulations! You appear to have both IPv4 and IPv6 Internet working. If a publisher publishes to IPv6, your browser will connect using IPv6. Your browser prefers IPv6 over IPv4 when given the choice (this is the expected outcome).
Your DNS server (possibly run by your ISP) appears to have no access to the IPv6 Internet, or is not configured to use it. This may in the future restrict your ability to reach IPv6-only sites. [more info]
Your readiness scores
10/10 for your IPv4 stability and readiness, when publishers offer both IPv4 and IPv6
9/10 for your IPv6 stability and readiness, when publishers are forced to go IPv6 only


Running my own servers and tunnelling through SIXXS I had 10/10 for all tests, so PlusNet still have a bit of work to do Smiley
So this is nice, when can it go live on my real account?? (I can't run on this test account since I need my static IPs..)
David_W
Rising Star
Posts: 2,305
Thanks: 32
Registered: ‎19-07-2007

Re: PlusNet IPv6 with DrayTek 2750Vn

I'd say ignore the 9/10, I don't think it's a PN issue:
Test with IPv4 DNS record	 	
ok (1.891s) using ipv4
Test with IPv6 DNS record
ok (2.028s) using ipv6
Test with Dual Stack DNS record
ok (2.298s) using ipv6
Test for Dual Stack DNS and large packet
ok (2.248s) using ipv6
Test IPv4 without DNS
ok (1.689s) using ipv4
Test IPv6 without DNS
ok (0.424s) using ipv6
Test IPv6 large packet
ok (1.995s) using ipv6
Test if your ISP's DNS server uses IPv6
ok (2.576s) using ipv6

I score 10/10 although earlier I scored 9/10 (same test failed as you) so I'm going to suggest it's a problem on their side and not ours.  You could try again and see if you score a perfect 10 though.  If you don't just do a tracert to ds.v6ns.test-ipv6.com
Tracing route to ds.v6ns.test-ipv6.com [2001:470:1:18::2]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
 1     4 ms     4 ms     4 ms  2a02:16c8:2000:f00:215:2bff:fe30:9516
 2    60 ms    61 ms    68 ms  2a02:16c8:0:1::a
 3    72 ms    79 ms    79 ms  2a02:16c8:1:8012::1
 4    61 ms    60 ms    93 ms  2a02:16c8:1:8013::1
 5    60 ms    60 ms    58 ms  2a02:16c8:1:8018::1
 6    61 ms    59 ms    69 ms  lonap.he.net [2001:7f8:17::1b1b:1]
 7   129 ms   129 ms   128 ms  10gigabitethernet4-4.core1.nyc4.he.net [2001:470
:0:128::1]
 8   154 ms   149 ms   149 ms  10gigabitethernet8-3.core1.chi1.he.net [2001:470
:0:1c6::2]
 9   170 ms   170 ms   171 ms  10gigabitethernet3-2.core1.den1.he.net [2001:470
:0:1af::2]
10   200 ms   197 ms   253 ms  10gigabitethernet4-4.core1.sjc2.he.net [2001:470
:0:1b4::1]
11   197 ms   197 ms   197 ms  10gigabitethernet1-1.core1.fmt1.he.net [2001:470
:0:2f::1]
12   196 ms   196 ms   195 ms  ipv6.gigo.com [2001:470:1:18::2]
Trace complete.

Earlier it wouldn't trace to that address which is why it was 9/10 (I think)
mwerle
Grafter
Posts: 87
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎14-01-2009

Re: PlusNet IPv6 with DrayTek 2750Vn

No - it was my fault.  When I reset everything to my normal config I discovered that I had temporarily added my DNS's IPv4 to resolv.conf - and I hadn't reconfigured it to use the PlusNet IPv6 address rahter than my standard SIXXS tunnel.  So no wonder that test failed Smiley
I'll try again another time and make sure I note down the nameservers which my router gets sent (but doesn't appear to use) during the DHCPv6 address assignment.  I had noticed them in the logs, but the router log had expunged those lines by the time I needed the details and I had run out of time to play with this.
Based on my rather limited testing so far, it looks like the DrayTek 2750 isn't quite as user-friendly as an IPv6 gateway as some of the other routers people are using, but at the end of the day it wasn't difficult either.
Cheers,
- Micha.
MJN
Pro
Posts: 1,314
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎26-08-2010

Re: PlusNet IPv6 with DrayTek 2750Vn

Quote from: mwerle
I'll try again another time and make sure I note down the nameservers which my router gets sent (but doesn't appear to use) during the DHCPv6 address assignment.  I had noticed them in the logs, but the router log had expunged those lines by the time I needed the details and I had run out of time to play with this.

Hi Micha,
It'll have been 2001:470:20::2 - a public resolver provided by Hurricane Electric.
Mathew
mwerle
Grafter
Posts: 87
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎14-01-2009

Re: PlusNet IPv6 with DrayTek 2750Vn

Quote from: MJN
It'll have been 2001:470:20::2 - a public resolver provided by Hurricane Electric.

Indeed it is, as can be seen from the router log.  Unfortunately I still haven't worked out how the router can automagically configure its LAN/RADVD daemon.
Quote from: routerlog
Jan 1 00:08:23 info daemon radvd[11862]: version 1.1 started
Jan 1 00:08:23 debug daemon wide-dhcp6c[11701]: client6_start_server: type=1, path=/tmp/dhcp6c_radvd
Jan 1 00:08:23 debug daemon wide-dhcp6c[11701]: client6_script: script "/etc/dhcp6/dhcp6c-script" terminated
Jan 1 00:08:21 debug daemon wide-dhcp6c[11807]: client6_script: ===> env end
Jan 1 00:08:21 debug daemon wide-dhcp6c[11807]: client6_script: new_ip6_prefix=2a02:16c8:2000:1800::/56
Jan 1 00:08:21 debug daemon wide-dhcp6c[11807]: client6_script: new_dhcp6_name_servers=2001:470:20::2
Jan 1 00:08:21 debug daemon wide-dhcp6c[11807]: client6_script: reason=BOUND6
Jan 1 00:08:21 debug daemon wide-dhcp6c[11807]: client6_script: ===> env start
Jan 1 00:08:21 debug daemon wide-dhcp6c[11701]: client6_recvreply: executes /etc/dhcp6/dhcp6c-script, state=3
Jan 1 00:08:21 debug daemon wide-dhcp6c[11701]: ifaddrconf: add an address 2a02:16c8:2000:1801:250:7fff:fe58:fd00/57 on br-lan
Jan 1 00:08:21 debug daemon wide-dhcp6c[11701]: ifaddrconf: add an address 2a02:16c8:2000:1800:200:ff:fe00:0/57 on lo

Here's some test results from this evening:
Quote from: IPv6
Looks like the test accounts restrict IPv4 quite heavily, but sweet on the native IPv6:

IPv4 wins on latency though:
        * IPv4 averages around 25ms
        * IPv6 averages around 45ms
These are the results around the same time using my normal account with my SIXXS tunnel:
       
Interestingly enough, the tunnelled IPv6 latency is actually better:
        * IPv4 averages around 25ms
        * IPv6 averages around 38ms