cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

telephone line through window - being replaced -

mal0z
Grafter
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

telephone line through window - being replaced -

A friend with phone and broadband with PN, is having new windows installed - and the telephone passes through one of yhe  window frames.
So who is reponsible for getting the wiring moved out of the way ( probably cutting the cable )  - so frame can be replaced, and then the wiring restored.
Is the company doing the windows - and they need to contact Plusnet or BT wholesale ?
Or the property owner - contact Plusnet or BT ?
They also want the telephone wiring tided up and a new master socket provided .
many thanks
Mal#
12 REPLIES 12
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

Hi Mal,
I've tried calling you but there was no answer. Drop me a PM with a good time to call tomorrow.
There are a few options here.
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,153
Thanks: 3,427
Fixes: 260
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

Quote
So who is reponsible for getting the wiring moved out of the way ( probably cutting the cable )  - so frame can be replaced, and then the wiring restored.

When I had windows replaced they carefully cut the old frame around the cable, and then installed the new windows so that the cable was between the wall and the window.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

mal0z
Grafter
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

Thanks Mand - a PM on it's way.
Was that the call with number withheld - mid afternoon ?. If so why withheld - many people don't like that ?
MAl
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

It wasn't deliberately withheld, our phone just does that if I don't call from a standard CSC phone (calls from the CSC display the 0845 number).
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,592
Thanks: 2,577
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

Quote from: Mand
It wasn't deliberately withheld, our phone just does that...

Not of its own volition - PN must have opted for "always withhold CLI" on that line. Like Mal, I tend to ignore 'withheld' calls.
If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
HPsauce
Rising Star
Posts: 6,769
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

Quote from: MisterW
cut the old frame around the cable, and then installed the new windows so that the cable was between the wall and the window.

It's the only cost-effective way, you're not supposed to modify BT's cabling before the master socket.
It just needs a bit of care when removing the old window.
I'd also cut a bit of a channel in the brickwork and plaster (or whatever is round the window) once the cable is freed, so that the new windows can be installed properly and the cable sealed in effectively without needing to cut into the new windows.
Then deal with the "tidying up" as a separate exercise. It won't be cheap though.  Embarrassed
mal0z
Grafter
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

OK thanks all. Seems like an 'internal move ' by PN/Openreach is the solution - put cable through another window already replaced.
Or as you say HP, drill a hole through masonary and put it through that.
thanks all
mal
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

I must admit when I first read this topic title I was curious as to what had upset you so much (my eyes skipped "line").
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
HPsauce
Rising Star
Posts: 6,769
Thanks: 18
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

Quote from: mal0z
an 'internal move ' by PN/Openreach

How much would that cost - any price been quoted yet?
Mand
Grafter
Posts: 5,560
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

A new install is cheaper to be honest.
It falls under the category of time related charges, which costs £85 - £100 for the visit (including first hour) and then £65 per hour after that.
A new install costs £49.99.
itsme
Grafter
Posts: 5,924
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎07-04-2007

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

Quote from: mal0z
- put cable through another window already replaced.

Could be wrong but I thought BT stopped going through window frames.
mal0z
Grafter
Posts: 3,486
Registered: ‎02-10-2008

Re: telephone line through window - being replaced -

Well spotted Jelv  Wink
I meant the telephone line of course.
Trouble with a new line - is that its a new number, and no doubt a minimum contract period - with line rental etc - so overall, it is bound to be more expensive ?.
and yes - going through a window frame esepcially double glazed ones - not best route, so masonary drill through wall and sealed after is much better idea.
I've passed info onto friend, and he says thanks, and when the work is planned will be in touch.