cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Really old fuse box on landline

CustardCream
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Really old fuse box on landline

I have a really old fuse/protector box on my landline inside my home (it dates back to 1930s) - at least I think thats what it is (see pic).  Its been hidden away behind a upvc door frame, along with what appears to be a bare earth wire.

 

Does this really need to be on the line, and if not, who's responsibilty is it to remove it - I've presumed Openreach as the black cable feeding in from the top is the line from the pole.  If so, whats the cost?

Much appreciate any advice

DSC_0308.JPG

8 REPLIES 8
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,595
Thanks: 2,579
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Really old fuse box on landline

No, it doesn't need to be on the line, but my first thought is - if it ain't broke don't fix it.

If you need it to be removed for 'cosmetic' reasons it would be a BTOR job, more than likely chargeable I'd imagine.

If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
billnotben
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,603
Thanks: 2,115
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎23-09-2010

Re: Really old fuse box on landline

Maybe it would come under some sort of routine maintenance / bringing up to date thing. Hasn't Openreach updated ancient connection boxes as part of free general maintenance before?

Maybe they would want that part for their museum.Smiley

198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,595
Thanks: 2,579
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Really old fuse box on landline


@billnotben wrote:

Hasn't Openreach updated ancient connection boxes as part of free general maintenance before?

If they're attending a fault on the premises, undoubtedly the wiring would be brought up to modern standard, and in this particular case would not be chargeable as it's before the master socket.

One would assume from the OP that there isn't a service affecting fault at the moment, but, well, sometimes faults just 'happen'. EvilWink

If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,613
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Really old fuse box on landline

If you just happened to get a voice fault, they ought to fix it.

I think its a connector device, not a fuse as there is virtually zero current on a phone line; might be best to let sleeping dogs lie.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Gel
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,238
Thanks: 267
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Really old fuse box on landline

Strat
Community Veteran
Posts: 31,305
Thanks: 1,627
Fixes: 565
Registered: ‎14-04-2007

Re: Really old fuse box on landline

@Gel

That looks like something an old electrician friend of mine would do.

If the fuse keeps blowing, replace it with a nail.

Do not try this at home.

Windows 10 Firefox 105.0.2 (64-bit)
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,595
Thanks: 2,579
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Really old fuse box on landline

Pretty sure it's a Protector Box No 1.2/2, which originally did have fuses, later replaced with copper links.

Either way, it's a potential fault waiting to happen.  Wink

If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
CustardCream
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Really old fuse box on landline

Thanks for the responses.

I don't have any issues with the phone line and have Plusnet Fibre Broadband running quite happily at 70+meg.

The box only came to light whilst doing some home renovations.  I'd prefer to get rid, but I'll consider the options.

 

Cheers.