cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phone not working

FIXED
Okay
Grafter
Posts: 44
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎03-12-2017

Phone not working

Hello,

My landline phone is not working, I don't know how long it's been out for.

My broadband over the same line is still working fine.

I plugged the phone into the master socket to check, but still no dial tone.

The 'report a problem' page suggests to "text..." I don't use a mobile phone.

Only way to get in touch is here for me.

Can anyone from plusnet help please?

Many thanks.

 

7 REPLIES 7
Gel
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,343
Thanks: 300
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎02-08-2007
Okay
Grafter
Posts: 44
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎03-12-2017

Re: Phone not working

I've taken the front off the master socket and plugged 2 handsets into the socket behind there and there's no dial tone. Broadband shows no problem however.

Had same problem earlier this year (or last year) and it was a connection at the pole.

What to do next?

Thanks for your help.

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Phone not working

Fix

@Okay there is a disconnection on the line so I have raised this to Openreach to resolve. It should be done in the next couple of days but the Estimated Repair Time is 15th 23:59

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
Okay
Grafter
Posts: 44
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎03-12-2017

Re: Phone not working

Thanks a lot will, much appreciated.

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Phone not working

No worries Smiley I will keep an eye on it for you any way.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team
Okay
Grafter
Posts: 44
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎03-12-2017

Re: Phone not working

The phone line is working again though no-one has been round and there have been no email updates from plusnet.

Could they have fixed it remotely without calling round? Any way to find out?

Hopefully it's not just intermittent as it means it will likely go wrong again.

Thanks for your help.

willcutforth
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,576
Thanks: 598
Fixes: 99
Registered: ‎27-11-2020

Re: Phone not working

Yeah a lot of the time it is fixed externally and they won't call. Glad it's all sorted for you though  Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Will Cutforth
 Plusnet Help Team