cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phone line always busy

FIXED
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2016

Phone line always busy

My phone line is noisy and has the handset off hook alarm. If i try and call goes straight to answerphone.

Have left unplugged for and hour and tried again with different handsets but the same.

Fibre broadband is woking fine

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,159
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 50
Registered: ‎22-01-2018

Re: Phone line always busy

Hello @simjor,

 

I am sorry to hear you are experiencing an issue with your line and for any inconvenience caused. I have tested your line and it is showing feedback on there which is causing a loop fault. Can you try the handsets in the test socket to see if the issue persists.

 

You find out how to locate the test socket by the thread here.

 

Please get back to us letting us know how you get on.

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 SammyM
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2016

Re: Phone line always busy

Hi

My socket has two sockets on the front, so do i also have a master socket with this type (No Microfilters)

Thanks

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,159
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 50
Registered: ‎22-01-2018

Re: Phone line always busy

Hello @simrjor,

 

There should be a clip at either side of the master telephone sockets that should allow you to press and unclip the front plate.

 

Once unclipped you will see another telephone socket behind there and we would ask to try the phones directly in that socket without a micro-filter.

 

Please let us know if the noise is still present at that point.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 SammyM
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎04-06-2016

Re: Phone line always busy

Hi

Ok, I can't do that till this evening. If you have already said you can see a fault on the line why do i need todo this?

Also how long does it take for an engineer to visit?

Thanks

Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,656
Thanks: 165
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Phone line always busy

Fix

Hi @simrjor,

Thanks for getting back to us.

I've performed further checks on the line and provided a further reply on your account here.

 

Thanks.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Maddy S
 Plusnet Help Team