cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Phone Wall SOCKET

jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Phone Wall SOCKET

This is something i dont think i ever got an explanation of why.
When i got my new phone line fitted last year & they fitted the master socket i got the old style with a plugin filter.
Why i never got an NTE5 ADSL filtered faceplate fitted i will never know as i never seemed to get a reasonable explanation as to why not.
So if anyone could shed somne light on this for me i would be very grateful. Huh
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
14 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 952
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

"old style"
Was it one with the removable lower half and a test socket inside?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

yep it has 2 screws to remove the bottom half,but whats that got to do with the built in filter one NTE5. Huh
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 952
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

Because that's the one they are required to fit, there's no obligation for them to fit the filtered one (excepting FTTC where they also provide the modem).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

God these old filters are out of the ark,i even offered the bt engineer payment if he would fit one,but he was a miserable sod if i remember.
So what to do here am i allowed to get someone to fit one of these NTE5 or whats the score. Roll eyes
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 952
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

You can do whatever you want from the test socket inwards. The filtered sockets replace the removable lower half and plug in to the test socket so you are perfectly OK to do so yourself.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

Thought as much cheers.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

So i take it there is no wiring involved in changing the front plate for one of these, BT Telephone ADSL Broadband Faceplate Filter Adaptor
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 952
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

If you have no extensions, no wiring needed. If you have extensions you connect them to the back of the filtered face plate.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

@jockwav
I'm surprised you didn't get an ADSL SSFP, you couldn't have approached the guy in the right way or he was a right miserable git. Mind you, I trust you realise that your modem/router has to be plugged in at the Master socket if you have one of those, rather than at an extension socket.
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

Quote from: jelv
If you have no extensions, no wiring needed. If you have extensions you connect them to the back of the filtered face plate.

No extentions to worry about. Grin
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

Quote from: Anotherone
@jockwav
I'm surprised you didn't get an ADSL SSFP, you couldn't have approached the guy in the right way or he was a right miserable git. Mind you, I trust you realise that your modem/router has to be plugged in at the Master socket if you have one of those, rather than at an extension socket.

He was a miserable git,i even offered him coffee & biccys,no extention  sockets just the master. Smiley
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,102
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

Next time you see an OR eng anywhere, go and say hello. If they seem approachable, just say you are on the scrounge for a SSFP  Wink You never know your luck.
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

Quote from: Anotherone
Next time you see an OR eng anywhere, go and say hello. If they seem approachable, just say you are on the scrounge for a SSFP  Wink You never know your luck.

Got a new FP ordered now. Smiley
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jockwav
Rising Star
Posts: 660
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Phone Wall SOCKET

Fitted my new filtered faceplate in 5 minutes,excellent. Grin
https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/