cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Persistent Dialtone

donne
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 15-08-2007

Persistent Dialtone

I notice that very often when I start to dial the dial tone does not stop.  If it happened on just one phone I would have suspected the handset but it appears to be on all extensions including the one plugged in to the master socket.  This appears to have happened since my line was upgraded to fibre in December 2015.  Could there be a fault with the exchange equipment?
6 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,647
Thanks: 534
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Persistent Dialtone

You've got voicemail on your line which is the cause of this.
If you dial 1571 and listen to the message it'll go back to normal.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
donne
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 15-08-2007

Re: Persistent Dialtone

Well I did try that (although there was no message waiting for me on voicemail) but there still seems to be a reluctance to get a line when I start dialling.  Sometimes  the only way I can get a line is to jiggle the offhook button on the handset.  By the way, I've still got microfilters in place on the extensions after the Openreach upgrade of the mastersocket - is that correct?
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,145
Thanks: 372
Fixes: 117
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Persistent Dialtone

Hello there. The 1571 voicemail service usually causes the dial tone to sound like a siren. Is that what you're experiencing or is it just a continuous dial tone?
If it's the latter, then there may be a genuine fault. I'd recommend running a line test by clicking on the following link (you'll need to be logged into the Member Centre first):
https://portal.plus.net/my-account/tools/phone-troubleshooter/
If there's no fault found you could try plugging your handset into your test socket (found behind the master phone socket).
If the fault still persists, you could then try to rule out voicemail being the issue by turning it off using this link:
https://portal.plus.net/plustalk/index.php?page=wlr_remove_call_features
(Call feature orders take 1 working day (excluding weekends))
Failing this, we would need to arrange an engineer visit to investigate further.
From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
donne
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 15-08-2007

Re: Persistent Dialtone

Hi, I am familiar with the interrupted dial tone I get when there is voicemail waiting for collection.  This isn't the issue.  The problem is that the dial tone persists even when I start pressing the keys to dial a number.  I have followed your link to the line test which reports no problem on the line.  I've also had a look at your troubleshooting video, but I'm not sure how to proceed since my master socket is an Openreach MK3 filtered socket, not featured in the video, which was fitted in December when I upgraded to FTTC.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,555
Thanks: 260
Fixes: 33
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: Persistent Dialtone

You should have two screws either side of where your phone plugs into the Mk3 socket, undo these and pull the plate off and it will reveal the socket you are after.
I too still have a filter on my extension after OR upgraded my master socket last year, I guess in theory its not needed, but does no harm, just don't put one on the master socket..
donne
Grafter
Posts: 64
Registered: 15-08-2007

Re: Persistent Dialtone

Thanks for the reply, Mustrum.  I've decided to remove the microfilters from the two extensions in the house and that seems to have improved matters though occasionally I still get problems with the exchange equipment failing to recognise that I am dialling.