cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PSTN switch off - can we have a PN update?

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 160

Re: PSTN switch off - can we have a PN update?

@knowdice wrote:

I hope they are not thinking about going to some proprietary system 🤔

You mean like BT's digital voice service?  Which I understand to be not the same as other VoIP / SIP services.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

knowdice
Rising Star

Personally would be quite happy if Plusnet converted my current PSTN number in to a SIP account.

There is plenty of SIP hardware out there that will do the job and I have been using SIP from Gradwell on my Plusnet FTTC since 2006 and know that it works well.

Ortero
Dabbler

@Baldrick1 The most worrying part of this guidance is that phone providers only have to provide access to emergency services for a minimum of an hour in the event of a power cut. So if you do have a heart attack during a power cut try and make sure you have it in the first 59 minutes. Thanks Ofcom.

Baldrick1
Fixes: 417

@Ortero 

Or use a mobile phone? Mobile phone battery flat? Sit in the car and plug the phone charger in there.

I agree that it's not good if you have no mobile connection but that is improving and I have it in my head that mobile phones can be used to make emergency calls using any mobile network, regardless of which network to which your SIM is locked.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

pint
Aspiring Pro
Fixes: 1

The emergency call is defined as 999 or 112 , however an emergency call to a neighbor/friend/family would fall outside of this.