cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

bin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 168
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎05-12-2014

Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

BB connection is being upset - checked line using 17070 -2

Continuous background buzz and crackle - AGAIN!!! Seems to be an annual event just like the church fete.

Trying to log fault - Phone trouble shooter goes

Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

Wonderful! Will join the queue.......................

11 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

Checking your account the fault report has come through and has been passed to Openreach for investigation. I believe you contacted us and one of my colleagues has provided the response date from them back to you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
bin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 168
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎05-12-2014

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

Thanks for that Chris. OR engineer came along and agreed there was a a problem - found 30v on the circuit. Eventually came to underpavement connection box with corroded connections dating back to 1990s. All replaced and voice line now clear.

This is a long standing fault and may be behind the reduction in my BB speeds sine Xmas. How do I go about getting a reset to Training Mode please? Router has been swoff/on.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

As you're on ADSL I can put a DLM reset through for you. I'll test the line now and see what's going on first, you'll likely be disconnected for around 3 minutes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

I've put an SNR reset through to try and allow your line to retrain again.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
bin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 168
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎05-12-2014

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

OK Chris - thanks for that. DSLStats shows no change so far but I accept it may take a couple of days to improve. Upload speed is still very good - just download gently crawling down and down and down......

bin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 168
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎05-12-2014

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

Just checked the phone line and exactly the same noise level - have updated ticket #150410090 as this fault is not fixed.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

Sorry that it's happened again. I can't see any update from yourself on the ticket, however I've rejected the fix and passed this back to Openreach for further investigation. When we hear back we'll let you know.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
bin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 168
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎05-12-2014

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

Thanks Chris - however the DLM reset seems to have triggered all sorts of chaos - SNR is up and down like a yo-yo and ES is up to 348 per hour.

Previously my SNR was set to 6.0 download which provided a sluggish but stable BB - right now it is a nightmare.

Is there a way we can quickly get the D/L SNR put back to 6.0?

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

The SNR target is still set at 6db, so a reset or change won't really do anything at the moment. WBC 160K - 24M No delay (INP 0) 6dB Downstream, UC No delay (INP 0) 6dB Upstream (ADSL2+)

 

I've just responded to the fault ticket, if you can reply to the ticket we'll get this picked up.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
bin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 168
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎05-12-2014

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

Hi Chris

Ticket updated - current DSL Stats for interest sake.

Stats recorded 02 Jun 2017 11:22:00

DSLAM/MSAN type: BDCM
Modem/router firmware: Not reported
DSL mode: G.992.3 Annex A
Status: Showtime
Uptime: 0 days, 2:08:29
Resyncs: 0 (since 02 Jun 2017 11:19:59)

Downstream                    Upstream
Line attenuation (dB): 33.0             20.2
Signal attenuation (dB): N/A          N/A
Connection speed (kbps): 2991        375
SNR margin (dB): 10.0               7.7
Power (dBm): 19.8           12.4
Interleave depth: 1 0
INP: 0 0
G.INP: Not enabled
Vectoring status: Unknown

RSCorr/RS (%):
RSUnCorr/RS (%):
ES/hour:

 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Oops, something seems to have gone wrong

Thanks for the ticket update. I've booked the appointment and confirmed this to you on the ticket and via text message.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff