cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Nuisance Calls

leeh

Nuisance Calls

Really getting fed up receiving nuisance calls since I moved to Plusnet.

At least 5-7 calls a week, mostly from International numbers (nobody there when you pick up), some from the UK, including one today from some idiot claiming to be from BT, telling me that my internet would be cut off "due to people from other countries using my Internet connection" (as an IT Manager, I would love to know how they can manage that) and he needed me to go to Teamviewer's site so he could "block their IP addresses".

I've tried switching-on the nuisance calls feature on my account, after which I received two emails to confirm that I'd deactivated my voicemail (great help!) but no change.

Additionally - my Mother (who is also with PlusNet) receives numerous calls from "Amazon", stating that her account has been closed (at 88, she has never had an Amazon account), including one at 7.30 in the morning when she was still in bed.

Unless Plusnet can offer a call vetting system very soon (Caller Protect), I'll be moving my family back to Sky (who do).

Rant over.

26 REPLIES 26
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 393

Re: Nuisance Calls

@leeh PlusNet offer Call Protect, free https://www.plus.net/help/phone/stop-nuisance-calls/

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

jab1
Legend
Fixes: 254

Welcome to the forums @leeh . The fact that you get these call - 99% of which originate on the Indian sub-continent, despite their apparent 'UK' numbers, has nothing to do with your move to Plusnet - it is just that four or five major 'spam factories' tend to pick a range of numbers to annoy for a while, and then move on.