cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Noisy phone line - no dial tone

jetstar
Grafter
Posts: 57
Thanks: 2
Registered: 19-11-2010

Noisy phone line - no dial tone

Hi. My phone line is very noisy / squeals / crackles and no dial tone even in BT test socket
Broadband has taken a hit, Download speed is 0.11 Mbps IP Profile for line is 0.14 Mbps
I've started an open ticket but is there anyone available at Plusnet for faults at weekend?
DSL connection drops out frequently with a network error!
7 REPLIES
Apprentice
Grafter
Posts: 614
Registered: 04-11-2008

Re: Noisy phone line + no dial tone

Have you tried dialling 17070 + option 2 for the "quiet" line test?
If it's noisy report it to your phone/calls provider and don't mention any problems re. BB.for the time being
jetstar
Grafter
Posts: 57
Thanks: 2
Registered: 19-11-2010

Re: Noisy phone line - no dial tone

'quiet line' test is just as noisy, + phone provider is Plusnet, fault tickets on 16Jan & BT call-out on 21Jan.
Infact no response from Plusnet on original bb fault ticket, had to phone up to move this issue forward!
Update : phone line is now completely dead no noise no dial tone + bb on 0.11Mbps if online
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,487
Thanks: 248
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Noisy phone line - no dial tone

Hi @jetstar
I've just been checking your account re this and see an engineer is due to come and visit tomorrow. Please let us know how that goes.
Adam
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
jetstar
Grafter
Posts: 57
Thanks: 2
Registered: 19-11-2010

Re: Noisy phone line - no dial tone

Thanks : - Adam + Plusnet
Openreach engineer came today and sorted line fault, a wiring short-circuit in the grey BT box outside.
Now just waiting for bb speed to build up currently 2.5Mb to around 7Mb
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Noisy phone line - no dial tone

I'll go test your broadband line and set a line reset going if needed.
The reset seems to have worked and your router is connecting at 8128 to the exchange again. It might take up to 24 hours for the profile to increase and therefore the speed you see to increase.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
jetstar
Grafter
Posts: 57
Thanks: 2
Registered: 19-11-2010

Re: Noisy phone line - no dial tone

Hi
Line speed is at 2.5Mb , is it usually more than 24 hrs to reset ?
jetstar
Grafter
Posts: 57
Thanks: 2
Registered: 19-11-2010

Re: Noisy phone line - no dial tone

Line is at normal speed -
DSL Logged Faults had to do another reset on 24Jan.
Smiley