cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No dial tone and poor internet.

geehawk
Rising Star
Posts: 98
Thanks: 29
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

No dial tone and poor internet.

Left the house today with working phone and internet.

The lane was being closed by Openreach doing something ( no notification given) so had to take a detour down an alternative pothole ridden lane. We are in a small hamlet down a dead end served by overhead cables.

Came home this afternoon to no phone line dial tone and internet speeds of below 1mbps.

 

Have reported it by texting PHONE, time to reply estimated as midnight Friday. 

 

Don't suppose there is any way of speeding things up as it's pretty obvious that Openreach have caused this issue. I don't believe in coincidences...

6 REPLIES 6
Rob2023
Newbie
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎18-04-2023

Re: No dial tone and poor internet.

I can't help speed up the fix I'm afraid but if it's of interest, I was once told many years ago on some training provided by Openreach that the majority of their faults are caused by engineers making mistakes. I'm not inclined to think that's changed! So I don't imagine they could prioritise faults that they've caused as it would imbalance the entire workstack. Good luck getting it fixed.
jab1
Legend
Posts: 17,024
Thanks: 5,447
Fixes: 254
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: No dial tone and poor internet.

@geehawk Two working days is the standard lead time for fault repairs on the network - they are often repaired sooner, however.

John
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,002
Thanks: 9,591
Fixes: 160
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: No dial tone and poor internet.

How long this will take to fix has nothing to do with how it was caused, but everything to do with what the problem is.  If it is a single circuit, it could well be fixed withing the 72 hour standard repair time.  If it is a cable bundle fault impacting several users, it could take somewhat longer, especially if dig works are required, necessitating local council approvals.

See one.network

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

geehawk
Rising Star
Posts: 98
Thanks: 29
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: No dial tone and poor internet.

Well I should probably buy a lottery ticket as it appears to be my lucky day.

Engineer arrived shortly after 9am. this morning.

Apparently they were renewing overhead cables the other day and have screwed up all sorts of connections. Not to mention there is now a tree branch (freshly cut not fallen) resting on the overhead lines, that could not have got there except while they were working ...

 

Anyway I have dial tone again and with it broadband has improved after a fashion. Now at 1.9 down and 0.9 up.

He cant investigate that further as he was here to fix the phone line.

His recommendation was to leave it a few days then report a broadband fault to get the correct engineer out for that.

 

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 23,002
Thanks: 9,591
Fixes: 160
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: No dial tone and poor internet.

Is this FTTC or ADSL?

If ADSL the line could have been chronically banded in which case it will not self recover, but will need a DLM reset.  If you can post your router stats here, further advice can be given.  There is though no harm in running the broadband fault bot - see the link below.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

geehawk
Rising Star
Posts: 98
Thanks: 29
Registered: ‎07-07-2016

Re: No dial tone and poor internet.

Fibre, but cabinet is miles away so we never get more than 7 down.

That as yet unused Gigaclear fibre point outside the house is looking more and more tempting right now. Shame we just signed up for another 18 months with Plusnet...