cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No corded telephone to check noisy line?

Cagney1994
Rising Star
Posts: 386
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎28-07-2013

No corded telephone to check noisy line?

Hi It seems I've just recently had a bit of noise on the line (via the quiet line test). The only thing is, I haven't a corded telephone to definitely make sure; only a cordless one. Is there any way around this or do i just book an engineer to check out the fault?  Thanks. 
8 REPLIES 8
jelv
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: No corded telephone to check noisy line?

It is best if you test using a corded phone. If you can't borrow one you can get one for £5.49 from Argos: http://www.argos.co.uk/product/3924358

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
bin
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 168
Thanks: 56
Registered: ‎05-12-2014

Re: No corded telephone to check noisy line?

Definitely get a cheapo corded phone as recommended by @jelv. The amount of perceived 'noise' from a BT cordless phone system surprised me - I always assumed it was the line!

Gel
All Star
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 235
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: No corded telephone to check noisy line?

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 18,273
Thanks: 5,941
Fixes: 991
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: No corded telephone to check noisy line?

Hi there,

 

It looks like we've got an engineer booked in for you. Can you let us know how it goes?


Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Cagney1994
Rising Star
Posts: 386
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎28-07-2013

Re: No corded telephone to check noisy line?

Thanks for the responses, guys. And I managed to get my hands on a corded telephone. Unfortunately the situation's gone from bad to worse.

I can't hear anything when the phone rings; only one tiny ringing sound and then silence. After picking up the receiver, neither I nor the other person can hear anything. The same applies to the cordless telephone as well.

Whilst on the line to PN via my mobile, they did about 3 line tests and all came back without any problems?! - Very bizarre.

And @Anoush; yes, I've booked an engineer visit for this Thursday between 1-6 pm. I'll certainly let you guys know what happened.

One more thing; it seems my caller display's not working either. Hopefully after the visit, everything should be back to normal.
198kHz
Hero
Posts: 4,962
Thanks: 1,723
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: No corded telephone to check noisy line?


@Cagney1994 wrote:
One more thing; it seems my caller display's not working either. Hopefully after the visit, everything should be back to normal.

Should be. The CLI signal is a stream of data in the voiceband, and is easily corrupted by noise on the line.

The older I get, the earlier it gets late.

ADSL2+   Billion 8800NL
Cagney1994
Rising Star
Posts: 386
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎28-07-2013

Re: No corded telephone to check noisy line?

Well,  the engineer's been and sorted it all out. Top bloke is all I can say. And the problem was with the box junction (the bit where the line enters into the property, then into the box, and finally out to the master socket). Apparently it was a right mess inside.

 

The only thing now is to uncap part of my data rate. The stat. shows 440/18445. If PN could look into that, that'd be great.

 

 

Jaggies
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,640
Thanks: 27
Registered: ‎29-06-2010

Re: No corded telephone to check noisy line?

Yeah, your upstream is capped. You might be better asking for it to be uncapped on the ADSL Broadband forum, though.