cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

I'm not happy but what choice do I have?
I really want my caller ID back, but I must rely on PlusNet to investigate and discover the fault for me.
3 months now and no sign of me ever getting it back Sad
Matthew, is there any update please? It's a week now since you said the engineer would check the exchange & I have heard nothing Sad
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Hi PlusNet, still no caller ID here, is there any update please?
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 988
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

I've recently had issues with caller id and it turned out to be an issue with noise on the line interfering with the signal sent before the phone starts ringing. The symptoms I had was that it was only working for about one call in ten.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

I had no problems then it suddenly stopped completely, 3 months ago.
Several resets have been tried, I've tried 3 phones at master socket, including buying a new one. Broadband and phone are otherwise fine.
I still hope the fault can be found at the exchange.
Any update please PlusNet?
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 988
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Given it's nearly two weeks since you had any input from Plusnet I'd suggest it's time for Making a Complaint
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,897
Thanks: 880
Fixes: 381
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Sorry to hear this still ongoing.
I've been out of the office but I'm chasing this up again.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Quote from: spoon
I'd suggest it's time for Making a Complaint

Thanks Jelv, but I am still trying to avoid that - I just want my Caller ID investigated and fixed, I don't want to add a complaints process into the equation.
Quote from: Matthew
Sorry to hear this still ongoing.
I've been out of the office but I'm chasing this up again.

Thank you Matthew, please let me know what is happening (the ticket continues to say simply 'internal', which tells me nothing, and I keep getting left hanging here on the forum, it is quite disheartening. I appreciate my issue is probably more than the usual reset or account adjustment, but surely there is a protocol or expectation that exchange engineers will do their part if that is indeed where the problem lies? Can they simply choose to do nothing?
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Hi Matthew, just to let you know, lots of disconnects & reconnects yesterday pm and one this morning, someone somewhere seemed to be working on or looking at my line,
but still no change - caller ID has not returned Sad
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Unbelievable - over 3 months since I lost caller ID, 3 months of mostly disjointed & random communication and support, still no caller id, and today I get a PlusNet phone call, nothing to do with my issue, just trying to sell me a 'better deal'. Is this a wind up? I've NEVER had a random call from PlusNet, what a great time they choose to start.
I JUST WANT MY CALLER ID BACK.
Don't know whether to laugh or cry.  Grin  Cry
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,897
Thanks: 880
Fixes: 381
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

That's a really bad coincidence and I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused Sad
The exchange has been checked and they haven't found any issues.
I'm trying to get this escalated further for you.
Just to confirm have you tried connecting the phone on it's own to the test socket?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Yes Matthew,
I tried two phones connected to the master socket, plus I then bought a brand new one just to be extra certain. None of them are displaying caller ID.
The #234 message tells me it is active but it simply does not work at this end, (where it always used to prior to August).
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,897
Thanks: 880
Fixes: 381
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Can you take the front faceplate off as shown here
http://www.plus.net/support/broadband/master-socket-guide.shtml
Sorry if I'm getting you to do stuff you've already done.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 988
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

@Matthew
It would help if everyone posted "test socket" rather than master socket when that is what is meant - it ties in with the guide you've linked as well.
However I tend to make it doubly clear by saying "test socket inside the master socket" - just a suggestion.
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Sorry, I did mean the test socket (inside the master socket).
Since it is so long since I checked it I have just done it again, and it is the same situation - no caller ID.
Highlighted
Rising Star
Posts: 204
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎17-09-2010

Re: My caller display has stopped working, any advice please?

Hi again Matthew,
any chance of an update with my loss of caller ID issue? You said you were trying to escalate it further?
Thanks