Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving from virgin

FIXED
John_
Grafter

Moving from virgin

Hi all, not sure if this is the right section but here goes.
I am thinking of moving from virgin to plusnet. First, how do I keep my virgin number, is it in the sign up process?
Second, the is a BT line in to the house but it's been unconnected for years, would this need replacing or is it going to cost me more money?
6 REPLIES 6
Statex
Hooked

Re: Moving from virgin

Just moved from Virgin , my advice don't. Virgin hike prices but you can tell them that you are leaving and they always offer a reduction. Virgin don't charge for service calls. With Plus net you have to agree that if they consider the fault to be in your wiring they charge £65. I used to work in the service industry it is so easy to blame the customer for the fault and charge the customer falsely, when the fault actually lies with the company. A nice little earner for them.

Even if you have a BT line into the house they will charge you a connection fee of £6.

Virgin is reliable and the phone line is always of good quality. My present line with Plus net (BT) is so bad I cant make calls, due to background noise. If I were not moving to an area that Virgin do not cover I would not have switched.

Statex
Hooked

That should read:

Even if you have a BT line into the house they will charge you a connection fee of £65.

John_
Grafter

Thanks for that, I haven't rang virgin yet, I'm just getting some back up options ready.
Anoush
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 139

Fix

Hello @John_ and a warm welcome to the community forums

I see no reason why we won't be able to retain your Virgin number, as long as the line is active for us to port the number over.