cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Keeping old number

nogbad1
Hooked

Keeping old number

Hello, I am a new customer awaiting phone connection and was hoping if someone could answer this question for me:
Will I be allocated a new telephone number or will I automatically be assigned my current old BT number?  I ask this as I do not wish to keep the old number as I am continually rung up by people looking for a business I have no knowledge of.
Thanks for any help in advance.
13 REPLIES 13
Oldjim
Resting Legend
Fixes: 63

Re: Keeping old number

normally the number transfers
I don't know what the procedure is for asking for a change when you join
nogbad1
Hooked

Thank you Oldjim.
Seems I will have to wait for a staff member to reply.
LinnPlusnet
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)

Hi nogbad1,
Welcome to the Forums.
I've had a look at your account and your phone service is due to be transferred to Plusnet in the next 10-12 days (you'll receive email confirming the date soon). The type of order that's going to be placed will transfer your number on the line as well and unfortunately there isn't a way around this.
The only thing I'd suggest doing is google your phone number and based on my findings it's 1 company that is listed on 3 web pages - 1 can be edited by the public and the other two I'd suggest writing in to them to advise that this number needs to be removed/amended as it's your personal home phone number and you have no connection to the company it's listed under. Once they're removed hopefully you'll stop receiving these calls!
Hope this helps.
ReedRichards
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 25

So is there a procedure if you want to change your existing telephone number?  I can envisage unpleasant circumstances where people would wish to do this. 
ITWorks
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 9

I think anyone can change their number, but it cost £ 35.85 ( if my memory is correct)