cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to get two phone numbers on the one line?

onlyme2014
Newbie
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎25-05-2014

Is it possible to get two phone numbers on the one line?

Hello, I wondered whether it's possible to get another number on my existing Plusnet telephone service? So, I would have two phone numbers but one line...does anyone know?
Thanks
7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Is it possible to get two phone numbers on the one line?

I don't think PlusNet do it.
BT Retail do, it's called Call Sign and I know it works as I have it, along with some clever little boxes to separate the incoming calls to different phones. There is only one outbound number though.  Wink
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 3,476
Thanks: 1,918
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Is it possible to get two phone numbers on the one line?

I strongly doubt it.
Technically achievable but not a 'standard' deliverable.
It was a possibility with BT if you knew exactly what you were asking for in technical terms AND were capable of fending off the "I cannot find it in the standard price book" sales bunch.  Not seen it about for some years now and my failing memory cannot recall the details.   I'll dig through a few old files later.
Maurice
EDIT  Just seen HP sauce response.  My knowledge is out of date  Embarrassed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,546
Thanks: 2,864
Fixes: 234
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Is it possible to get two phone numbers on the one line?

I had Call Sign with BT in the 90's. It worked well with the second number having a single ring rather then the usual two. It worked well separating calls for the kids from mine Wink
Does it still work the same nowadays?

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Is it possible to get two phone numbers on the one line?

Exactly the same. I use TwinTalk units to send the calls to different extensions.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,618
Thanks: 628
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-03-2011

Re: Is it possible to get two phone numbers on the one line?

This is not a technical issue. I've used this feature many times for my clients' sites, some with BT and some with other providers.
Now Zen, but a +Net residue.
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Is it possible to get two phone numbers on the one line?

But PN don't appear to offer it.  Undecided
RobPN
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,291
Thanks: 276
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Is it possible to get two phone numbers on the one line?

Not quite the same technically, but you could always use VoIP.  Then you could have many numbers and be able to conduct several simultaneous calls!