cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Home Phone

tssk
Grafter
Posts: 117
Registered: 31-07-2007

Home Phone

Hi, placed a question earlier (Question #55729960), we have no home phone at the moment, no dial tone etc and anybody trying to phone us is getting redirected to other peoples phone lines, anybody getting the same problem tonight?
Addendum: I have just done a speed test (I'm on fibre), and from the 35meg I was getting 3 days ago, that's now dropped to 5 meg - is there a problem with that as well methinks?
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Home Phone

If you have a mobile I suggest phoning Plusnet Faults on Customer Support: 0800 432 0200 or 0345 140 0200 as I would think that BT Openreach have screwed up bigtime
tssk
Grafter
Posts: 117
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Home Phone

I have a mobile phone, its on PAYG, I haven't got enough credit to go round the merry go round, which is why I was hoping Plusnet would be monitoring this thread, thanks for the advice though.
Is anybody monitoring this potentially serious upset?
jim:quote
dmarkowen
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 21-05-2012

Re: Home Phone

Sad Yes same problem and I'm not paying for a 0800 call from my mobile either!
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 1,873
Thanks: 461
Fixes: 6
Registered: 05-11-2008

Re: Home Phone

Try this
Dial 0113 830 0800
Enter the 0800, 0808, or 0500 number you want to phone
Press # to start the call
Doing it this way you'll only be charged for a UK landline call, which will be free if you have inclusive minutes with your mobile tariff.
http://www.0800buster.co.uk/
I have used this for a few years now, with no problems Smiley
jim:quote
Kind Regards
Mike
Mike
Infinity
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 6,126
Thanks: 264
Fixes: 3
Registered: 19-06-2011

Re: Home Phone

On GiffGaff, 0800 numbers are indeed free.
I have one for this very reason, as backup to my home phone, and when out & about.
James
Grafter
Posts: 21,036
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Home Phone

0345 140 0200 is normally included if you have any included minutes.
I think that's why Jim gave both numbers.
jojopillo
Grafter
Posts: 9,786
Registered: 16-06-2010

Re: Home Phone

Hi tssk,
I've asked one of our phone faults team to pick this up again for you.
@dmarkowen,
It looks like it's an exchange issue which has now been raised for you.
Jojo Smiley
Highlighted
tssk
Grafter
Posts: 117
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: Home Phone

Thanks Jo, had a chat earlier with [removed] who is sorting the engineer side of things out. Seems to be an exchange mess up with crossed lines.
[Moderator's note by Jim (Oldjim):  Full quote of preceding post removed, as per Forum Rules ]
[Moderator's note by Jim (Oldjim): CSA name removed as per the forum rules.]