cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Have to pay for Caller Display!

wolf8338

Have to pay for Caller Display!

I am totally new to PlusNet and I have just been connected today. I have just found out that I have to pay for Caller Display.
I have never had to pay Caller Display from other phone companies since I started having a home phone.
I am already not happy paying for a service that I've never had to pay for before.
22 REPLIES 22
Strat
Community Veteran
Fixes: 565

Re: Have to pay for Caller Display!

Not many people round here are happy with the Caller Display charge, something which is seen by many to be as much a standard feature of a phone service as the ring.
Windows 10 Firefox 109.0 (64-bit)
To argue with someone who has renounced the use of reason is like administering medicine to the dead - Thomas Paine
picbits
Rising Star

BT seem to be offering it free for a year although their standard charge looks like £1.75 a month otherwise.
Many others do seem to offer it as part of the line rental though.
I fully expected to pay the extra £0.99/month when I signed up a couple of years ago though as I'd read through all the extras before signing up.
wolf8338

It has always been standard and free. I did phone and complain but got no joy and the customer adviser just said that it's 99p!
picbits
Rising Star

It has always been a chargeable option on PN for as long as I've been with them (>2 years now).
BT Wholesale charge Plusnet for the option too - I've just read the price lists though and it appears the wholesale cost has fallen from £6 a year down to £0.45 (+vat) per year - if this is the case then it wouldn't take much for PN to absorb this cost or even charge a one off £1 a year fee for it .
It will be interesting to see if PN start passing these new savings on.
wolf8338