cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dial tone, incoming calls but can't dial out

Saitan
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎20-01-2015

Dial tone, incoming calls but can't dial out

Hi,
Like the header says we have a dial tone and can receive calls, but the phone hasn't been able to dial out for about a week now.  I've tried looking around my account to see if some setting has changed like we've been put on incoming calls only but I can't see anything.  Any ideas what may be causing this?
Thanks
8 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,984
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Dial tone, incoming calls but can't dial out

Hi there.
I've run a few tests on your line and I've not been able to find any issues.
Can you follow the steps on the page below?
http://www.plus.net/support/phone/troubleshooting.shtml
If your still having issues let us know.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,739
Thanks: 953
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: Dial tone, incoming calls but can't dial out

What do you get if you dial 17070?
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,735
Thanks: 12
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: Dial tone, incoming calls but can't dial out

Just querying the obvious, but have you tried another phone handset in case it's faulty? Borrow one from a friend or neighbour if necessary.
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,105
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

Re: Dial tone, incoming calls but can't dial out

Do you hear the tones when dialling or does it "pulse" dial? The latter seems to take an age to complete, even with 17070 Shocked
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.
Saitan
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎20-01-2015

Re: Dial tone, incoming calls but can't dial out

Sorry it took so long, but I've been desperately trying to locate our corded phone.  Anyway in the meantime the problem seems to have resolved itself.  The phone beeps when pressed if that makes any sense, and the normal scheme of things is some silence after the number is entered for a short while then ringing.  What was happening was the number was beeping through then just more dial tone, and never any ringing even if I waited for ages.  Odd.  Whatever made it work properly I'm happy!
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,984
Thanks: 581
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Dial tone, incoming calls but can't dial out

That is a bit of a weird one but glad to see its working.
If you have any further issues let us know.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Saitan
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎20-01-2015

Re: Dial tone, incoming calls but can't dial out

I do like to present weird problems!
Since I last posted this problem has happened again, albeit intermittently.  I tried to dial out about an hour ago and no luck, but dealing out 10 mins ago worked just fine.  Its all pretty strange.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,953
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎24-07-2014

Re: Dial tone, incoming calls but can't dial out

I saw a similar issue the other day, and a new faceplate appeared to sort it.
If you could note down how often you experience it, and how many re-dials it takes, we can raise a fault report for you.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Tony T
 Plusnet Help Team