cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Crackling On The Line

thekunig
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Crackling On The Line

Hi I have used your troubleshooter - Line test comes back ok - have connected directly into the master socket - removed Now tv box and changed filters - I also have bought a new home phone - but there is still crackling on the line but Broadband Speeds seem ok ? - Any ideas

14 REPLIES 14
CJT-80
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 104
Thanks: 26
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎14-11-2017

Re: Crackling On The Line

@thekunig 

Can you access the test socket?

Plug new phone in to test socket, and dial 17070 select option for "Quiet Line Test" if not quiet report as a noisy line.

 

Kind Regards,

CJT
thekunig
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: Crackling On The Line

I dont have a test socket as both are old NTE4 and not NTE5 ?

Mads
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,861
Thanks: 204
Fixes: 79
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Crackling On The Line

Hey @thekunig

You should be able to find the test socket once you unscrew the face plate, it'll be behind that. I've now booked in an engineer appointment for you, you can find all info on this ticket here. 

 

Thanks. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Maddy S
 Plusnet Help Team


198kHz
Hero
Posts: 4,962
Thanks: 1,723
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Crackling On The Line


@thekunig wrote:

I dont have a test socket as both are old NTE4 and not NTE5 ?


There is no NTE4.

For clarity - if you a socket like this

18417.jpg

then there is no test socket, but if you have one like this

phoneNTE5.jpg

you can access the test socket as advised by @Mads 

The older I get, the earlier it gets late.

ADSL2+   Billion 8800NL
thekunig
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: Crackling On The Line

Like I mentioned prior the socket is the first one with no test socket?

198kHz
Hero
Posts: 4,962
Thanks: 1,723
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Crackling On The Line

@thekunig OK, that's what I'd inferred from your initial post, but I just wanted to clarify as @Mads seemed to have assumed otherwise.

The older I get, the earlier it gets late.

ADSL2+   Billion 8800NL
thekunig
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: Crackling On The Line

So despite being told I have an engineers appointment today between 08:00 and 13:00 - They never showed !!

Mads
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,861
Thanks: 204
Fixes: 79
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Crackling On The Line

I'm sincerely sorry to hear this @thekunig

I've re-arranged an engineer appointment for 22/06 between 8-1pm for you. I've also taken ownership of this and will be checking in with you on Tuesday to make sure the appointment went ahead and to update you on engineer notes and the next steps. 

 

Thanks. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Maddy S
 Plusnet Help Team


MMG
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-06-2020

Re: Crackling On The Line

With the older socket with no faceplate, have you tried removing the faceplate and disconnecting any extension cables behind it - if there are any connected. Some may require extension sockets to be plugged into the front, but I am sure that some of them do have an extension connections at the back.

Then connecting your phone into the front and dialing the number previously mentioned to get the silence test?
thekunig
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: Crackling On The Line

I think you need to cancel that as I have just switched.- See ticket

thekunig
Dabbler
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: Crackling On The Line

@ MMG  = Thanks for your help - buy I'm outa here - never got anywhere near my speeds promised for months and this was the lasy straw - cheers

MMG
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-06-2020

Re: Crackling On The Line

Dont be too hard on Plusnet as they use BT Openreach infrastructure to connect to their network. Assuming that they had booked the engineer, (which I assuming they would have had done) it's not their fault if the engineer never showed, its BT Openreach.
MMG
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎20-06-2020

Re: Crackling On The Line

Its certainly frustrating when your in limbo and have to rely on third parties to resolve things.
But you may have the same issue with another provider. Remember BT dont own the infrastructure anymore as BT Openreach are a seperate company.
Mads
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,861
Thanks: 204
Fixes: 79
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Crackling On The Line

Thanks for getting back to me @thekunig, I'm sorry you've arranged a transfer of providers. I've cancelled the engineer appointment for you now. 

 

Thanks and take care. 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Maddy S
 Plusnet Help Team