cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Constant engaged tone

FIXED
jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Constant engaged tone

No matter who i phone on my landline i just get a constant engaged tone,i have plugged in my new spare phone & it is still the same,any ideas.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
19 REPLIES 19
2u2me
Pro
Posts: 350
Thanks: 91
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎27-09-2013

Re: Constant engaged tone

Sounds like you have a short somewhere on the line, have you tried just plugging in the test socket?

jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Constant engaged tone

Yep did all the usual test socket with my new spare phone.

I need one of the staff to pick this up as obviously i can,t phone anyone to report it.Sad

I really need my phone.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Mustrum
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,070
Thanks: 786
Fixes: 73
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Constant engaged tone

Don't you have a mobile phone? The 0800 number is free on mobiles.

PN staff are thin on the ground this weekend, a call is likely to be quicker than one picking this up.

Gel
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,236
Thanks: 267
Fixes: 26
Registered: ‎02-08-2007

Re: Constant engaged tone

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,580
Thanks: 978
Fixes: 53
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Constant engaged tone

jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Constant engaged tone

Mustrum my mobile is in the shop just now or i would have used it.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Constant engaged tone

Gel i have already tried all the usual stuff,been here before.Smiley

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Constant engaged tone

Browni,tried all that,ended up with an 0800 phone number to call but i can,t obviously.Smiley

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,580
Thanks: 978
Fixes: 53
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Constant engaged tone

I wasn't sure how far that one went with regards to testing the phone line as it won't let me continue because my line is with BT Sad
jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Constant engaged tone

Well, i tried the chat earlier but could not get anyone,i really need my phoneline sorted out ASAP.Roll_eyes

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Constant engaged tone

Well i manged to speak to someone called [CSA Removed] who has raised a ticket & will pass it on to openreachbut can take 24-72 hours,wow.Shocked

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): CSA name removed as per Forum rules.Grin

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Constant engaged tone

Well my phone rang today about 2.30pm & i rang the person back,so i take it that is it sorted,seems weird to me.Roll_eyes

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
jockwav
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 687
Thanks: 22
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎01-08-2011

Re: Constant engaged tone

Thinking about my phone line that started working yesterday,i find it strange that openreach would have done anything on a sunday.Roll_eyes

Anyway now when i listen to the dial tone i am hearing a 2 tone sounding dial tone.Shocked

https://www.flickr.com/photos/james_bingham/
BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 469
Thanks: 124
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎09-04-2016

Re: Constant engaged tone

1571 message waiting?