Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Changes to local phone calls in 5 areas

Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 1,686
Registered: ‎03-02-2014

Changes to local phone calls in 5 areas

From 1 October 2014, customers in the following areas will need to dial the whole phone number, including the relevant area code, when making a local call -

  • Aberdeen (01224) Includes Aberdeen and the area to the west, including towns such as Westhill.

  • Bradford (01274) Includes Bradford and the surrounding areas such as Baildon, Bingley, Cleckheaton and Shipley.

  • Brighton (01273) Includes Brighton and Hove, as well as places such as Lewes, Newhaven, Peacehaven and Southwick.

  • Middlesbrough (01642) Includes Middlesbrough and surrounding places such as Stockton, Redcar, Stokesley and Yarm.

  • Milton Keynes (01908) Includes Milton Keynes, Bletchley, Newport Pagnell and an area to the north as far as Ravenstone.

At present the area code is not required for local calls from landlines, but this means Ofcom is unable to make available new local numbers beginning with a ‘zero’ or a ‘one’.
The change will free up new telephone numbers to be issued in areas where supplies are running low.
You can find more information here from Ofcom.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,028
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Changes to local phone calls in 5 areas

Made sticky and locked