cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't have phone and internet at the same time...............

ajmurphy1986
Browser
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-09-2017

Can't have phone and internet at the same time...............

Have a box on the wall with two of the rectangular phone imputs, which I thought would be one for the Internet, one for the phone. Only one of them works. So I plug the router into the one that works and the phone into the slot on the filter, that says phone. Phone doesn't work. Only way to get the phone to work, is to plug it directly into the wall, which means I can't use the internet. Help please

8 REPLIES 8
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 11,411
Thanks: 3,567
Fixes: 273
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Can't have phone and internet at the same time...............

Sounds like the filter may be faulty , have you tried another one ?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,621
Thanks: 4,325
Fixes: 345
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Can't have phone and internet at the same time...............

So why can't you plug your phone into the phone socket and the modem/router into the internet one on the master box? You do not use a separate filter in this instance as a filter is already built into the master box.

If this doesn't work you need to take the faceplate off the master socket and plug the separate filter that came with the router into the test socket and see if that works.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

mikelahey
Pro
Posts: 236
Thanks: 88
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎24-11-2015

Re: Can't have phone and internet at the same time...............

The other possibility is that the  OP may have a two line master socket. Perhaps someone had a line for work and a line for home use in the past.

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,621
Thanks: 4,325
Fixes: 345
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Can't have phone and internet at the same time...............


@mikelahey wrote:

The other possibility is that the  OP may have a two line master socket. Perhaps someone had a line for work and a line for home use in the past.


True, I didn't think of that.

@ajmurphy1986 Have you tried another filter? Are the two sockets on the faceplate identical, that is, will the telephone plug into either but only one of them works? Is the faceplate all one piece or is it split with a removable section either clipped or held on with two screws? Can you post a photo of it?

 

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

bmc
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 648
Fixes: 28
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Can't have phone and internet at the same time...............

What type of Master Socket do you have - see the following

http://bt.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40812/~/what-type-of-master-socket-have-i-got%3F

 

Brian

ajmurphy1986
Browser
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-09-2017

Re: Can't have phone and internet at the same time...............

A mix of the two.........The first one but with two of those slots. Not two different slots like the second one. Only one of the slots works, for internet or phone

 

Its a brand new filter that plus net sent out, shouldn't be faulty should it?

Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 9,621
Thanks: 4,325
Fixes: 345
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Can't have phone and internet at the same time...............

It shouldn't be, but it could be. Do you only get one supplied these days?

Another thought, do you have a different phone you could try?

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

Gandalf
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 25,915
Thanks: 9,539
Fixes: 1,512
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Can't have phone and internet at the same time...............

Would it be possible to post up a photo of the socket?

We can then advise further.

From 31st October 2022, I no longer have a regular presence here as I’ve moved on to a new role within Plusnet.
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet