cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beware unknown calls billed to your account including 123

Contrajur
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎19-03-2017

Beware unknown calls billed to your account including 123

I just learned through Customer Support that engineers sometimes will call to 123, maybe also to other numbers, to see if a line is working. I was told that their engineers have been told not to do this but if it happens to you this is one possible reason.

I had a problem with my telephone and could not get a tone. This persisted, so I called for help. They said it would take three days before they dealt with it but the phone was working again the next morning. Now, at the end of the billing period, I see two charges for one minute calls to 123 the day before. When I queried it, Plusnet did not baulk and said they would refund the charges through the direct debit system once the payment for the bill had gone through.

2 REPLIES 2
PeeGee
Pro
Posts: 1,217
Thanks: 84
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

Re: Beware unknown calls billed to your account including 123

This is a well known (but not universally known) problem with Openreach personnel. Plusnet do not, themselves, have engineers, so are not at fault - though, as you have found, are willing to apply an appropriate refund.

Phil

Plusnet FTTC (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.
Anoush
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,568
Thanks: 570
Fixes: 139
Registered: ‎22-08-2015

Re: Beware unknown calls billed to your account including 123

Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that you were charged for calls to 123.

I've seen this a few times after a fault has been rectified, and I'm happy to hear we're arranging for a refund to be sent back.
This is my personal Community Forum account to help out around these parts while I'm at home. If I'm posting from the 1st March 2020, this means I'm off-duty with no access to internal systems.
If this post resolved your issue, please click the 'This fixed my problem' button