cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT phone out of action - but broadband keeps on working!

VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,614
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

BT phone out of action - but broadband keeps on working!

I've just phoned in a voice fault on my BT line.
They tested it and they opine that there's a fault in an underground line.
How can they tell that the line is underground?
My broadband is still working (vast noise margin and only 4Mbps) even though my phone can't even recognise a dialled 151.
I find this a bit amazing.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

5 REPLIES 5
alanf
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,931
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-10-2007

Re: BT phone out of action - but broadband keeps on working!

Does the phone work when broadband equipment is disconnected? Unlikely I know, but once had a fault where I could have phone or broadband but not both simultaneously.
VileReynard
Hero
Posts: 12,614
Thanks: 630
Fixes: 20
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: BT phone out of action - but broadband keeps on working!

BT engineer called (at the door) within an hour of placing the call.
Apparently, "a pressurised underground cable" has failed.
Anyway, he put me on a different pair, went back to the exchange tested the phone.
Then came back to pick up some equipment + final testing.
The BT engineers I see are always very thorough.  Smiley
They will be fixing the underground cable "soon".

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

HPsauce
Rising Star
Posts: 6,788
Thanks: 24
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2008

Re: BT phone out of action - but broadband keeps on working!

Quote from: axisofevil
I find this a bit amazing.

Broadband will sometimes work (just) with only 1 wire. The phone definitely won't.
I know, I've done it. Crazy
(it's all to do with electrical properties at the different frequencies used)
Anotherone
Champion
Posts: 19,107
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: BT phone out of action - but broadband keeps on working!

BT's quite sophisticated test equipment can tell how far from the exchange a fault is, and hence which bit of cable is affected.
jelv
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 26,786
Thanks: 990
Fixes: 10
Registered: ‎10-04-2007

Re: BT phone out of action - but broadband keeps on working!

Does it have to be that sophisticated?They could tell where the breaks were in under sea telegraph cables many, many years ago!
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£14.40/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)