cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

BT Basic with Plusnet

nicklawrence
Newbie
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎02-05-2016

BT Basic with Plusnet

There's been a few posts about BT Basic but they are all confusing 😞

 

Basically (no pun intended) I am eligible for BT Basic. I currently have line rental @ £16.99 with plusnet with free broadband for a year. Can I switch to BT Basic to save money on the line rental as I don't use my phone at all?

9 REPLIES 9
PeterLoftus
Pro
Posts: 2,583
Thanks: 178
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎27-05-2011

Re: BT Basic with Plusnet

why not get your broadband from them as well and save even more?

http://www.btplc.com/inclusion/ProductsAndServices/BTBasic/index.htm

 

To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,385
Thanks: 6,220
Fixes: 1,451
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: BT Basic with Plusnet

you won't be able to move your phone line and keep the free broadand, you'll have to pay some costs.

 

I believe PN can't provide broadband to a bt basic subscriber either, you'll need to wait until your year is up.

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
HarryB
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,191
Thanks: 1,447
Fixes: 255
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: BT Basic with Plusnet

While it would be possible to have your line rental with BT and broadband with us, the broadband cost would then be £12.49 per month as it would be a broadband only account.

 

I also believe you're currently in contract for phone and broadband.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
HarryB
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,191
Thanks: 1,447
Fixes: 255
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: BT Basic with Plusnet


dvorak wrote:

I believe PN can't provide broadband to a bt basic subscriber.


I'm pretty sure we can provide broadband, we just can't migrate the phone to us while BT Basic is active on the line.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,385
Thanks: 6,220
Fixes: 1,451
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: BT Basic with Plusnet

fair enough.. as the OP says there have been confusing messages in the past Smiley
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
PeterLoftus
Pro
Posts: 2,583
Thanks: 178
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎27-05-2011

Re: BT Basic with Plusnet

BT basic £15.30 for three months = £5.10 per month + Broadband @ £4.85 per month total £9.95 per month and this includes some free calls Thumbs_Up

To do is to be - Neitzsche
To be is to do - Kant
do be do be do - Sinatra
Mav
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 21,499
Thanks: 4,388
Fixes: 500
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: BT Basic with Plusnet

But only 10GB of data allowance.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,580
Thanks: 978
Fixes: 53
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: BT Basic with Plusnet

It is possible to have BT Basic line rental and broadband with Plusnet, that's what I have!

The broadband that you can get bundled with BT Basic has a rather awful 10GB per month usage allowance.

 

eta crossposted with @Mav

billnotben
Community Veteran
Posts: 7,602
Thanks: 2,113
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎23-09-2010

Re: BT Basic with Plusnet

It's a shame it's so restricted. I think what BT say you can do with 10GB is a bit outdated.

There's so much guff added on various web sites that 10GB quickly disappears.