cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: Wednesday

Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

Normally I do not need home phone so only have a Broadband package but due to COVID19 lockdown I need the phone. It is too expensive to continue on pay as you go type arrangement however I only need phone for 2-3 months (hopefully). Am I able to sign-up for short periods - rolling month or 3 months?

If I agree and buy a phone package how quickly will it activate i.e. immediately, within 24 hours?

Thanks

9 REPLIES 9
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 3,626
Thanks: 1,222
Fixes: 27
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

You can add/remove phone packages at any time - the change is on your next billing date.

John
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 3,920
Thanks: 796
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months


@jab1 wrote:

You can add/remove phone packages at any time...


But the OP wants to add Home Phone - it''s only broadband at present.

When somebody says it’s not about the money, it’s about the money.
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 3,626
Thanks: 1,222
Fixes: 27
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

Sorry, @198kHz - kinda missed that. Ingnore me, @Eggnog 

John
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 3,920
Thanks: 796
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

@jab1 No worries - we've all been there.  😉

@Eggnog As you have a broadband line, Home Phone can certainly be added.

https://www.plus.net/home-broadband/faqs/broadband-and-phone/#existing-customer

I doubt very much whether you'd have to wait until the next billing date, but hopefully a PN staffer will be along shortly to confirm that.

Anyway - no harm in applying straight away - see above link. It is on a monthly rolling contract.

When somebody says it’s not about the money, it’s about the money.
Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,447
Thanks: 897
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

There must be a phone line to carry the broadband (unless it's FTTP.)

@Eggnog who do you pay line rental to?

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 3,920
Thanks: 796
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

@Browni Ah, good point!

Maybe @jab1 was right all along.

Anyway, I think he and I need to lie down in a dark room for a while.  😉

Er, separate rooms...

When somebody says it’s not about the money, it’s about the money.
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 3,626
Thanks: 1,222
Fixes: 27
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months


@198kHz wrote:

@jab1 No worries - we've all been there.  😉

@Eggnog As you have a broadband line, Home Phone can certainly be added.

https://www.plus.net/home-broadband/faqs/broadband-and-phone/#existing-customer

I doubt very much whether you'd have to wait until the next billing date, but hopefully a PN staffer will be along shortly to confirm that.

Anyway - no harm in applying straight away - see above link. It is on a monthly rolling contract.


@198kHz  - I was going on my recent phone package change - it did not change until my next billing cycle.

John
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: Wednesday

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

Thank you all so much for your answers.

I pay line rental to PlusNet.

That is great that I can just take the phone contract for the period that I want. I will add package straight away.

 

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 3,920
Thanks: 796
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months


@Eggnog wrote:

I pay line rental to PlusNet.


OK, so you already have Home Phone, but don't use it because calls are all charged for?

You want to start using your landline, with a call plan?

If that's correct, you just need to log in to your account and select 'Offers and Upgrades'.

As @jab1 said originally, the change will happen on your next billing date.

When somebody says it’s not about the money, it’s about the money.