cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎25-03-2020

Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

Normally I do not need home phone so only have a Broadband package but due to COVID19 lockdown I need the phone. It is too expensive to continue on pay as you go type arrangement however I only need phone for 2-3 months (hopefully). Am I able to sign-up for short periods - rolling month or 3 months?

If I agree and buy a phone package how quickly will it activate i.e. immediately, within 24 hours?

Thanks

10 REPLIES 10
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 3,941
Thanks: 1,368
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

You can add/remove phone packages at any time - the change is on your next billing date.

John
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,187
Thanks: 1,000
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months


@jab1 wrote:

You can add/remove phone packages at any time...


But the OP wants to add Home Phone - it''s only broadband at present.

Bee Alert >> Spray safe >> Save hives
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 3,941
Thanks: 1,368
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

Sorry, @198kHz - kinda missed that. Ingnore me, @Eggnog 

John
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,187
Thanks: 1,000
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

@jab1 No worries - we've all been there.  😉

@Eggnog As you have a broadband line, Home Phone can certainly be added.

https://www.plus.net/home-broadband/faqs/broadband-and-phone/#existing-customer

I doubt very much whether you'd have to wait until the next billing date, but hopefully a PN staffer will be along shortly to confirm that.

Anyway - no harm in applying straight away - see above link. It is on a monthly rolling contract.

Bee Alert >> Spray safe >> Save hives
Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,456
Thanks: 899
Fixes: 49
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

There must be a phone line to carry the broadband (unless it's FTTP.)

@Eggnog who do you pay line rental to?

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,187
Thanks: 1,000
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

@Browni Ah, good point!

Maybe @jab1 was right all along.

Anyway, I think he and I need to lie down in a dark room for a while.  😉

Er, separate rooms...

Bee Alert >> Spray safe >> Save hives
Hero
Posts: 3,941
Thanks: 1,368
Fixes: 32
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months


@198kHz wrote:

@jab1 No worries - we've all been there.  😉

@Eggnog As you have a broadband line, Home Phone can certainly be added.

https://www.plus.net/home-broadband/faqs/broadband-and-phone/#existing-customer

I doubt very much whether you'd have to wait until the next billing date, but hopefully a PN staffer will be along shortly to confirm that.

Anyway - no harm in applying straight away - see above link. It is on a monthly rolling contract.


@198kHz  - I was going on my recent phone package change - it did not change until my next billing cycle.

John
Highlighted
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎25-03-2020

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

Thank you all so much for your answers.

I pay line rental to PlusNet.

That is great that I can just take the phone contract for the period that I want. I will add package straight away.

 

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,187
Thanks: 1,000
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months


@Eggnog wrote:

I pay line rental to PlusNet.


OK, so you already have Home Phone, but don't use it because calls are all charged for?

You want to start using your landline, with a call plan?

If that's correct, you just need to log in to your account and select 'Offers and Upgrades'.

As @jab1 said originally, the change will happen on your next billing date.

Bee Alert >> Spray safe >> Save hives
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 107
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎09-03-2020

Re: Adding phone package to broadband for 2-3 months

Hi @Eggnog,

 

Thank you for taking your time to get in touch.

 

In regards to a call plan this can be changed and take action on the next billing date, from I can see that you have since been in touch and your query has been addressed.

 

@198kHz You are correct in terms of is someone wants to add a landline service as they have a legacy broadband only subscription they can do this at any time rather than waiting for the next invoice date. To get broadband to work down the line you do need to pay line rental to someone.

 

I hope that this answers any questions you may have.

 

Kind regards,

 

Josh

 Josh Berriman
 Plusnet Help Team