cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adding a telephone ringer

2kaud
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-09-2014

Adding a telephone ringer

I would like to add a telephone ringer. However I already have 4 telephones attached - giving a REN value of 4. The telephone ringer also has a REN value of 1 which if I connected it would give me REN value of 5. I've read that you shouldn't exceed a REN value of 4.
Is it possible for me to add a telephone ringer? Please would some kind person advise.
7 REPLIES 7
PeeGee
Pro
Posts: 1,216
Thanks: 84
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎05-04-2009

Re: Adding a telephone ringer

Not an answer, but - unfortunately, phones are rated "upto" with integer values - so a true loading less than 1 is certified as 1 - see also the wikipedia entry.
Plusnet FTTC (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link Archer VR600 modem-router.
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,590
Thanks: 2,577
Fixes: 37
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: Adding a telephone ringer

It's just a guideline - meaning basically that BT Openreach won't be interested if you complain of ringing problems and you have a total REN of 5.
Unless you have a particularly long line, chances are you'll be fine. Just try it and see - either it'll work or it won't - and no harm will be done in either case.  Smiley
4C (ex-BT)
If you want the best seat in the house, move the cat
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
2kaud
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-09-2014

Re: Adding a telephone ringer

Thanks. If having a REN of 5 won't cause any harm I'll try it and if it works fine. Unfortunately I do have rather a long line from the cabinet to my property which caused some issues when I first had  ADSL and then fibre broadband installed.
Is there any device you can get which you can add to a phone line to increase the number of devices which can be attached?
Oldjim
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,034
Fixes: 63
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Adding a telephone ringer

Yes
A DECT phone - one base station and several hand sets
picbits
Rising Star
Posts: 3,428
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Adding a telephone ringer

I would second Jims suggestion.
A DECT phone set with 2 or more handsets will still only take a REN of around 1. You can position the master base station near you phone socket and have the rest of the phones anywhere that is convenient.
2kaud
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎14-09-2014

Re: Adding a telephone ringer

Thanks. I'll do that. It'll save problems with having ringers etc.
picbits
Rising Star
Posts: 3,428
Thanks: 22
Registered: ‎18-01-2013

Re: Adding a telephone ringer

You might want to look at the ones offered by BT with the call nuisance blocking system - you can use them to help stop cold callers / withheld numbers etc etc.
They cost a few quid more but well worth looking at for a long term investment.