cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

lwheatley54
Not applicable
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-06-2015

1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

I hope you can help me just as easily.  My 1571 is working only I need to extend the rings, so far I have been unable to get to the phone before the answering service kicks in.  Not funny especially as my son insisted on trying to call be 6 times before he eventually rang my mobile Angry
adie:green changed topic to match subject]
10 REPLIES 10
pwatson
Rising Star
Posts: 2,470
Thanks: 8
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎26-11-2012

Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail

You'll need to order Voicemail Extra (£3/month) in order to change the number of rings:
http://www.plus.net/support/phone/call_features.shtml#voicemail
You could, instead, replace your phone with one that has an answering machine of course! Wink
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,435
Thanks: 6,262
Fixes: 1,454
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: 1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

mod:note
split topic for better visibility
Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Anotherone
Champion
Posts: 19,107
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: 1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

Also, you don't have to have the 1571 service at all, you can have it turned off. Your callers, unless using inclusive minutes from their providers, get charged - connection fee (where applicable) + first minute, every time that service takes their call. And note, it goes straight to that service if your line is engaged.
PS. Welcome to the forum.
lwheatley54
Not applicable
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-06-2015

Re: 1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

Thanks for the information I will now try and cancel my 1571.  I have an answer phone so I really dont need it.  One of the reasons I moved from talk talk was the same thing although they let you have three rings.  I should have looked into it more closely if any of you have you will find that if you look up call features it does say that you can change the number of rings via the main menu of 1571.  Obviously this information is out of date although I only joined Plusnet Phone and Broadband on the 9th June 2015 Thanks for the welcome, I am sure I will find the forum useful as I have this time.
MatthewWheeler
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,175
Thanks: 1,050
Fixes: 405
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: 1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

I can see you've spoke with us and voicemails been removed.
Let us know if there's anything else we can do to help.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
sjptd
Grafter
Posts: 492
Thanks: 4
Registered: ‎01-09-2014

Re: 1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

Thanks for posting this: made me check and find that I had got onto voicemail somehow by mistake, so I have cancelled it. 
I'm pretty sure I didn't ask for it (though could have got confused when I first signed up), so the 'opting-out' by default may not be working as expected.
Anotherone
Champion
Posts: 19,107
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: 1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

IIRC, it's an opted in by default. We have had the debate about that many times before and it's fallen on deaf ears. Most users would rather have Caller Display FOC by default. We did suggest that we could be given the choice of either 1571 basic or Caller Display free, but that also fell on deaf ears Roll_eyes
davidj66
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 704
Thanks: 47
Fixes: 4
Registered: ‎04-09-2008

Re: 1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

@Anotherone - I believe that 1571 service is NOT switched on by default -or at least, the call features guide say it isn't Wink Certainly, my phone rings 6 times before my own answerphone cuts in -never used 1571.
Anotherone
Champion
Posts: 19,107
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 21
Registered: ‎31-08-2007

Re: 1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

Maybe it wasn't when we signed up, but I'm fairly sure it is now.
Existing connections won't be affected by any change of the default.
hillyfields123
Grafter
Posts: 148
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-09-2014

Re: 1571 - change rings (was Re: 1571 Anytime Voicemail)

IIRC when I signed up (less than 1 year ago) it was an opt-out rather than an opt-in.