cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

1470 over ride doesn't work ..

mikez
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎22-11-2012

1470 over ride doesn't work ..

 
Hi
Hope someone might be able to help as the Plusnet Call Centre can't even understand the question !!!
We are with Plusnet and had Permanent Number Withhold put on our line. However when we want to call someone on a one-off basis and try to temporarily disable it PNW by entering 1470, we get a recorded message saying that "this service is not available"
Anyone able to help please ?   Thanks
8 REPLIES 8
198kHz
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,634
Thanks: 2,647
Fixes: 38
Registered: ‎30-07-2008

Re: 1470 over ride doesn't work ..

There are two versions of Permanent Number Withhold, one with override and one without.

As in this case - https://community.plus.net/t5/Home-Phone/Permanently-withhold-number/td-p/1385079

it would appear you've been given the wrong one.

One of the Plusnet help team should be able to correct this when they see this thread.

Murphy was an optimist
FTTC 40/10   Billion 8800NL
BT technician (Retired)
Warwick
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 594
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: 1470 over ride doesn't work ..

Hi @mikez

 

Thanks for getting in touch.

 

I am sorry to hear you've been having problems with lifting the withheld number feature on your line. I have checked the details of your account and can see that you do have permanent withheld number on there but no option to over-ride this.

 

I have now placed an order to update this to allow you to over-ride with 1470 dialed first which will complete today up to midnight.

 

I'm sorry for the inconvenience and if you have any further questions feel free to get in touch.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 20,121
Thanks: 8,207
Fixes: 104
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: 1470 over ride doesn't work ..

Hi,

This rather sounds as though 1470 has been disabled.  From BT Retail support pages...

Can 1470 be disabled on my line?

Yes. There is an option available that removes the 1470 facility from your line. This will be of particular benefit to ex-directory customers who do not wish to release their number under any circumstances.

However see also the last post on here - https://community.bt.com/t5/Landline/Automatic-number-withhold-override/td-p/1284021 - which might imply that the published facility simply does not work (or possibly might not work on some exchanges).  @198kHz can you comment here please?

Given that by default PN phone numbers are ex-directory, it is possible that PNW is ordered with the override disabled.  If this is the case, it needs to be made clear!  @Gandalf the wizard makes a point here - https://community.plus.net/t5/Home-Phone/Withholding-number/m-p/1469593#M24366 - of mentioning "With 1470 override" which could be read as suggesting the 1470 facility is an ADDITION to PNW.

EDIT: @198kHz and @Warwick both responding whilst I was researching the subject … confirming the conclusions I had drawn.

@JonoH - is there a need here to make clear to all involved, that 1470 is an ADDITIONAL service and that should be made clearer to both agents and customers when requesting PNW?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

JonoH
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 4,317
Thanks: 7,422
Fixes: 153
Registered: ‎29-09-2011

Re: 1470 over ride doesn't work ..

Interesting, I wasn't aware that there were two kinds, I'll have a look at how they're ordered on the system but I imagine it was a manual order that was placed and the wrong product was selected. 

 Jono H
 Plusnet Community Manager
mikez
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎22-11-2012

Re: 1470 over ride doesn't work ..

Thanks to all - PN now on the case

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 20,121
Thanks: 8,207
Fixes: 104
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: 1470 over ride doesn't work ..

Hi Mike,

Equally thank you for bringing your experience here, where we can better understand how the service is configured / delivered and gain clarity.

I am shocked to learn that BT Openreach offer NPW and publish details of a code which allows CLI disclosure on a specific call ... but does not make equally clear, that service needs to be separately ordered.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 25,902
Thanks: 9,440
Fixes: 1,511
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: 1470 over ride doesn't work ..

Hi Mike.

From what I can see the order to change the call feature to "Withhold Number With Override" completed 15 minutes after Warwick's post. Are you able to use 1470 now?

It looks like the agent who originally added the withhold number feature just selected the option for "Without Override". 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button.
From 31st October 2022, I'll no longer have a regular presence here as I'm moving on to a new role within Plusnet.

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
mikez
Grafter
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎22-11-2012

Re: 1470 over ride doesn't work ..

Hi

 

All sorted - many thanks