cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

first-utility doing broadband now

St3
All Star
Posts: 2,561
Thanks: 447
Fixes: 4
Registered: 13-07-2012

first-utility doing broadband now

12 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,685
Thanks: 2,415
Fixes: 171
Registered: 06-04-2007

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

According to ispreview they are supplying broadband through Talk Talk.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Jonpe
All Star
Posts: 1,586
Thanks: 420
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-09-2016

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

So £18.99/month for ADSL and line rental, and it doesn't go up after the 18-month contract ends?  I wonder how long that will last bearing in mind that BT charge £18.99 for the line alone.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,595
Thanks: 732
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

No up front charges and no delivery charges.

Seems almost too good to be true but so are a lot of things.

Like empty promises.

 

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,143
Thanks: 371
Fixes: 116
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

It looks like they're just offering it to their energy customers, which could explain how they can provide it at a very lost low cost.

From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,151
Thanks: 1,054
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

Plusnet's missing a trick here, you guys could be offering electricity and gas... Funny

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,143
Thanks: 371
Fixes: 116
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

Ha ha, maybe...

(I'm kidding, as far as I'm aware we've no plans)
From when I joined the Plusnet Help Team in May 2017 my main Community account is @Gandalf.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,595
Thanks: 732
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

Ha ha, looks like plusnet is stuck with subsidising new customers out of the pockets of old customers...

(I'm kidding, not)

Luzern
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 3,077
Thanks: 274
Fixes: 2
Registered: 31-07-2007

Re: first-utility doing broadband now


twocvbloke wrote:

Plusnet's missing a trick here, you guys could be offering electricity and gas... Funny


Just imagine having to wait half an hour for the light switch to work, or the water to boil.Roll eyes

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,595
Thanks: 732
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

And the supply voltage would be "up to" 240 volts.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,151
Thanks: 1,054
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

"Up to 240 volts" is appropriate round here according to my UPS readouts that can dip down to 210v a lot thanks to the wiring that's probably been in place since Lord Armstrong was still alive...

Jonpe
All Star
Posts: 1,586
Thanks: 420
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-09-2016

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

@Anoush  So the energy customers who do not subscribe to their broadband are in effect subsidising the ones who do?

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,595
Thanks: 732
Fixes: 1
Registered: 23-09-2010

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

Is that a heavy pot calling the kettle black hint?Smiley