cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

first-utility doing broadband now

Highlighted
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 2,614
Thanks: 500
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎13-07-2012

first-utility doing broadband now

12 REPLIES 12
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20,080
Thanks: 3,678
Fixes: 394
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

According to ispreview they are supplying broadband through Talk Talk.

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,947
Thanks: 1,090
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

So £18.99/month for ADSL and line rental, and it doesn't go up after the 18-month contract ends?  I wonder how long that will last bearing in mind that BT charge £18.99 for the line alone.

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,718
Thanks: 1,456
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-09-2010

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

No up front charges and no delivery charges.

Seems almost too good to be true but so are a lot of things.

Like empty promises.

 

Highlighted
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,178
Thanks: 377
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎22-08-2015

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

It looks like they're just offering it to their energy customers, which could explain how they can provide it at a very lost low cost.

This is my personal Community Forum account to help out around these parts while I'm at home. If I'm posting from the 1st March 2020, this means I'm off-duty with no access to internal systems.
If this post resolved your issue, please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,998
Thanks: 1,642
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎06-11-2014

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

Plusnet's missing a trick here, you guys could be offering electricity and gas... Funny

Highlighted
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,178
Thanks: 377
Fixes: 119
Registered: ‎22-08-2015

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

Ha ha, maybe...

(I'm kidding, as far as I'm aware we've no plans)
This is my personal Community Forum account to help out around these parts while I'm at home. If I'm posting from the 1st March 2020, this means I'm off-duty with no access to internal systems.
If this post resolved your issue, please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,718
Thanks: 1,456
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-09-2010

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

Ha ha, looks like plusnet is stuck with subsidising new customers out of the pockets of old customers...

(I'm kidding, not)

Highlighted
Hero
Posts: 4,701
Thanks: 875
Fixes: 8
Registered: ‎31-07-2007

Re: first-utility doing broadband now


@twocvbloke wrote:

Plusnet's missing a trick here, you guys could be offering electricity and gas... Funny


Just imagine having to wait half an hour for the light switch to work, or the water to boil.Roll_eyes

No one has to agree with my opinion, but in the time I have left a miracle would be nice.
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,718
Thanks: 1,456
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-09-2010

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

And the supply voltage would be "up to" 240 volts.

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,998
Thanks: 1,642
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎06-11-2014

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

"Up to 240 volts" is appropriate round here according to my UPS readouts that can dip down to 210v a lot thanks to the wiring that's probably been in place since Lord Armstrong was still alive...

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,947
Thanks: 1,090
Fixes: 9
Registered: ‎05-09-2016

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

@Anoush  So the energy customers who do not subscribe to their broadband are in effect subsidising the ones who do?

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,718
Thanks: 1,456
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎23-09-2010

Re: first-utility doing broadband now

Is that a heavy pot calling the kettle black hint?Smiley