cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why are pizzas expensive?

Community Veteran
Fixes: 1

Why are pizzas expensive?

I held a pizza party yesterday for some friends. I'm relatively new to this type of thing, but was an expert in the eyes of my guests because I was two pages ahead in the manual. With the assistance of Google and Jamie Oliver I discovered for the first time how to make pizza dough. 

A 1.5 Kg bag of pizza flour costing £2 and four teaspoons of dried yeast, made enough dough for 20 medium sized pizza's. At the most toppings per pizza cost me 100p. Add in a bag of kiln dried hardwood for the oven at £2.50 and the guests were making their own wood fired, pizza's for about a £1 each. I was surprised how cheap and easy it was to do this.

A basic Pizza Domino's of the same size costs £11.50 collected. I don't see how they can justify those cost levels.

Now Zen, but a +Net residue.
23 REPLIES
Fixes: 123

Re: Why are pizzas expensive?

Rent, rates, wages, profit?

Forum Moderator and Customer
Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear - Mark Twain
He who feared he would not succeed sat still

Steve
Pro

@AlaricAdair do you deliver? and would you sell me one for the price it cost you to make one? If so I will have a spicy meat feast one please, how long will it take to deliver?

Community Veteran
Fixes: 13

Huh !.... how about a "Jacket Potato"... with some cheese grated over it.. and some "side salad"  comprising of half a tomato... ( cut in two to make it look more )... two ( at max ) leaves of lettuce, strip sliced .. ( to make it look more ) a sprig of basil  ( to make it look more expensive )... and a dozen or so sweetcorn peas ( to add some colour) ..

That`ll be £8.95p please sir.... Oh ... sorry... you wanted two ?   and some coleslaw on the side...  £2.00 extra each for the coleslaw .. total £22.00  ... did you want anything to drink, with that....? ? ? ?