cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgradng my phone...

jojopillo
Grafter

Upgradng my phone...

Was thinking of getting a HTC Desire, any opinioins?
Jojo Smiley
13 REPLIES
Midnight_Caller
Rising Star
Fixes: 1

Re: Upgradng my phone...

Get a BlackBerry.
David_W
Rising Star

HTC Desire is apparently very good.  I'm looking at the Nokia N900 myself to replace my iPhone, I just never phone anyone so maybe the iPhone 4 would be a better bet  Crazy
A review by The Register gave the Desire 90% so it's highly recommended.  Don't forget to shop around for the best deal, I'm looking at £25 p/m for the N900 (£2.99 for the first 9 months too!) so you should be able to get similar for the Desire.  I have no experience with Android though a caveat is it doesn't have the same controls over it's market place as Apple so you have to beware what you download to the mobile, but if you're interested in hacking your mobile, you can do that with an Android, and if you want to make your own programme, you can!
Community Veteran

Quote from: Midnight
Get a BlackBerry.

I agree, get a blackberry
David_W
Rising Star

I think saying "get a blackberry" is a bit silly really.  Which blackberry model for instance?  Pearl, Bold or Storm?  Why get a blackberry over a Nokia, HTC, Sony, Android based, iPhone etc?
I went for the N900 because it comes with Linux on it (stripped down Debian) so is good if you want to tinker, as it has Linux it can also handle enterprise type stuff that a Blackberry can (and folding out keyboard) as well as touch screen and if you're really geeky you can upgrade from Maemo to Meego.  If you want a phone that "just works" the HTC Desire is perfect. 
So, can you clarify why your recommendation is a blackberry (without model)?
pjemmanuel
Grafter