cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ticket Refunds

Community Veteran
Fixes: 13

Ticket Refunds

My friend from Italy, booked with National Express, over the internet, for the journey from Gatwick to Portsmouth, and return.
The journey is 4 hours...... which takes in at least 1 hour wait at Heathrow. and another wait at Victoria Coach station.
The journey by plane from Italy took just less than 2 hours !
He wanted to cancel the return part of the ticket , to travel by train as it is only 1 hour 10 minutes into Gatwick airport...
National Express state that "part tickets" CANNOT be refunded... and this is "LAW".... They are also saying (in a telephone converstation) that this is the same for ALL modes of transport TRAIN/PLANE/SHIP....
I am not convinced .... and wonder if anyone on the forum can clarify the "legal" situation regarding cancellation/refund of the return half of a ticket.
Thank you
6 REPLIES
Community Veteran

Re: Ticket Refnds

I'm no lawyer - but I doubt it is law, more like a condition of contract ?.
And return fairs can be cheaper than two singles - so maybe not much to refund.
I've little experience of express [sic] coach services - but I have never had a refund on a return portion of a train ticket - but we have on airline tickets.
How much was the ticket - my only experience of Coach was it was very cheap when booked over internet - something like £8 for a 60 mile journey.
good luck
Euge
Grafter

Yeah I would agree that since it was purchased as a return ticket, it would have to be refunded as a return ticket. Ironically you can get cheaper tickets by booking 2 single tickets. I've used national express a lot and just recently travelled from London to Cambridge for £1 by coach, the train from Bury, in Suffolk, to london cost me £6. The return journey would have cost me at least £50.
Community Veteran