cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Snip snip... oops

Highlighted
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,367
Thanks: 3,704
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2014

Snip snip... oops

Thought I do some cutting back of next doors ivy as it was growing over and into our wood store and allowing rainwater in. Big mistake, as snipping through the foliage I cut through their FTTP cable.

Me to Neighbour: Do you want the good news or the bad news.

Neighbour: I'll have the bad news.

Me: I've cut through your internet cable.

Neighbour: So what's the good news?

Me: England are through to the Rugby World Cup final.

 

Ah well, so what's the bill likely to be? 😣

58 REPLIES 58
Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,607
Thanks: 2,473
Fixes: 35
Registered: ‎06-11-2007

Re: Snip snip... oops

Daft place to put a cable !... and you can`t use your soldering iron to fix it, either... so.... let us know if you need to phone "QuickQuid"...    oh... yeah... sorry.... you can`t do that now...... (crying face smiley)

 

Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 371
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Snip snip... oops

@Minivanman @Hope your insurance is up to date. Don’t think Fibre cable can be patched, may have to be replaced back to last junction....

Highlighted
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,367
Thanks: 3,704
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2014

Re: Snip snip... oops

@Champnet 

I don't suppose it can, and would house insurance cover it?

Highlighted
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,603
Thanks: 1,334
Registered: ‎21-11-2018

Re: Snip snip... oops

Not quite as bad but sister in law was doing cutting back ivy and cut through phone cable, I soldered it back together and all OK....

 

Can you fit a satellite cable cable joiner to the cable ?  It ensures core and screen continuity....

 

https://www.screwfix.com/c/electrical-lighting/lead-connectors/cat830560

 

Get some self amalgamating tape to waterproof it...

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,928
Thanks: 1,148
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Snip snip... oops

@Minivanman 

I agree with @shutter, daft place to put a cable.  🙄

Was it on your side of the boundary?  If so, you might be able to argue you had no idea it was there.

Good luck with it.

PS  Maybe offer the neighbour use of your WiFi to keep them sweet(ish).  😉

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,928
Thanks: 1,148
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Snip snip... oops


@wotsup wrote:

 

 

Can you fit a satellite cable cable joiner to the cable ?  It ensures core and screen continuity....


@wotsup 

FTTP = proper fibre.

If I remember correctly @Minivanman s installation would have been the old 2-stage method, so the 'cable' consists of a Kevlar tube through which the fibre is blown.  Connectors ain't gonna work.  😉

 

Edit:  It would be unusual if the neighbours installation was not similar.

Highlighted
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,603
Thanks: 1,334
Registered: ‎21-11-2018

Re: Snip snip... oops

Our virgin FTTP was normal copper coax from street box,, used satellite connectors and when I cancelled ( end of last year )   and sent router back I had to fit the standard 75ohm resistor cap on cable socket to prevent signal reflections from open port...

 

Do any companies bring fibre optic to domestic premises ? 

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,928
Thanks: 1,148
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Snip snip... oops

FTTP = Fibre To The Premises

Co-Ax to the premises = Virgin-speak for FTTP.  (EDIT;  or vice-versa  😉)

Virgin speak with forked tongue.  😉

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,928
Thanks: 1,148
Fixes: 5
Registered: ‎17-05-2013

Re: Snip snip... oops


@wotsup wrote:

 

 

Do any companies bring fibre optic to domestic premises ? 


Yes, including PlusNet if you count their 'trial' which some of us are on.

There are a handful of others, most using the BTOR FTTP.

 

PlusNet FTTP

Highlighted
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,367
Thanks: 3,704
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2014

Re: Snip snip... oops

@Champnet 

Re: House insurance.

I doubt now thinking about it that it would be worth even making a claim as it does not cover the first £100. Will need to check though but think that's the case with ours.

@RobPN 

Right about that, not possible to repair as it's fibre to the house and the cable is almost like a soft cotton thread. The engineer will need to run a new length as @Champnet suggested from junction to junction which in this case is about ten meters. Carefully wrapped the damaged section with amalgamating just in case but nope, so must have gone almost right through with those secateurs.

Cable runs from our junction box and the alongside the wall of their house which joins directly onto ours and almost like a semi- detached... if that makes sense.   

Neighbour been in to use our internet this evening so all good there, reckon the cost at "not more than £65" according to their IPS... which also happens to be Plusnet!

 

 

 

Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 371
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Snip snip... oops

Hope you’re right, that’s not too bad.

Can you throw an Ethernet cable across the fence to your neighbour ?

 

Highlighted
Aspiring Legend
Posts: 11,367
Thanks: 3,704
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎04-11-2014

Re: Snip snip... oops

@Champnet 

Well I have some at about 5m, but not sure that's going to be long enough.

Good thinking though but touch wood (or wooden spoons) it should not too long before we see an engineer turn up. Nice easy job, no ladders needed, and he/she might even get a cup of tea! 

 

Highlighted
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,018
Thanks: 1,657
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎06-11-2014

Re: Snip snip... oops


@Champnet wrote:

Can you throw an Ethernet cable across the fence to your neighbour ?

 


Not a good idea, if the two houses are on different electrical phases, there can be a nice 400v differential between the two properties, given that a lot of modern switch-mode power supplies aren't properly isolated from mains to DC side, and bridging that with an ethernet cable can result in quite the big bang, a lot of smoke, and even more red faces than just a cut fibre cable... 😬

Highlighted
All Star
Posts: 1,208
Thanks: 371
Fixes: 2
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: Snip snip... oops

Can’t see why connecting a pair of devices in adjacent property’s would cause an electrical issue. 
Then again I’m not an electrician just a retired network expert....