cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rip off companies ......

Community Veteran

Rip off companies ......

So ........ I had a phone call from a customer last week - "my xyz machine has gone wrong, can you have a look ?"
Now I'm not an expert with xyz machines but the customer can rely on me to give them an honest opinion so I popped over (30 mile round trip). Plugged it in - nothing.
Found a fuse at the front - tested it with a meter - dead ! Fantastic
Popped round the corner to Maplin, bought a packet of fuses, replaced the fuse, pffffffft ....... pop.
Oh well - time to open it up - lots of green bits of something inside and upon investigation, the switch mode power supply had fried some input components.
I advised the customer I could possibly repair it for around £35 in parts (this used a supply available from Farnell) but it may still not work - in my opinion worth a gamble. They decided to send it back to the manufacturer for a quote.
Having "thoroughly" tested the unit, the manufacturer turned round and said - "dead main board - we can possibly fix it for £600+vat but no guarantees on the repair". They were willing to sort it out with a guarantee for just over £1000  Cheesy
Anyway - I was asked to have another look at it, it turned up by courier, I hooked it up to an external PSU, powered it on and everything worked perfectly. Ordered the new part from Farnell and fingers crossed it will sort them out - I've also offered them no long term guarantees as I only charge for parts + labour on top but my quote was a tenth of the company that supplied the product.
Considering the machine had test points to inject the power / test the existing PSU, this should have been a 20 minute job with the right tools but how greedy is asking £600+ for the repair !!!Huh
Having explained all this to the MD of the company he's turned round and given me a load more work Smiley Nice end to a pretty rubbish week  Cool
9 REPLIES
Glenn
Grafter