Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Renewal time again !

shutter
Community Veteran
Fixes: 47

Renewal time again !

Yup !... car insurance is due next month.... so I get a "auto renewal" email price from my current insurer... RIAS...

Last year, the premium was £305    .... this year, autor renew at £397.....

an increase of abou 26%.... for what reason?   I have been driving for over 55 years...wiithout any accidents, motor offences, etc...no claims bonus is 55years.. ! ... but.. they only put 19+on their select it list ! ! .

I spent about 3 hours this morning after brekky... scouring the net, and the "usual suspects" for comparisons... and collated them in the past hour... making sure that the lowest quotes all gave the same, (or very similar) cover to my current provider... e.g. mileage... voluntary excess...windscreen. hire car...etc.

Two very low quotes... one was for £248 ... with a company that was not registered wth the FCA for conducting insurance.. but was a "sub-contractor" for one who was..... the quote was only  valid for today.. so gave them a miss...

The next quote... £295... was from a "sub-contractor" of AVIVA  ! ! ... with a voluntary excess of £250... and all he above "extras" included..   When I went to AVIVA  ( as recommended by Martin`s money saver site )... the quote came back at £315... with a compulsory excess of £550...and none of the "extras" above..

Weird?  sure is...

The quote of £295 is valid until 19/3/2020   so will keep it saved until I get rich enough to pay them before the 17th ! ! 

Anyway... that is the one I have opted for.... as it is even cheaper than RIAS was for me last year..

RIAS failed to appear in the 10 lowest quotes on all the major comparison sites... ! ! 

3 REPLIES 3
Mayfly
Seasoned Pro
Fixes: 1

Re: Renewal time again !