cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,757
Thanks: 1,048
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

This article is from the BBC site this morning.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-35657210
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,321
Thanks: 467
Fixes: 1
Registered: 21-03-2011

Re: Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

It's a good start as long as the other providers are not forced to pay for repairs where Openreach failed to maintain their own ducts or allowed them to become clogged up.
Now Zen, but a +Net residue.
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,596
Thanks: 751
Fixes: 3
Registered: 06-11-2014

Re: Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

Coming soon to a telegraph pole (Why do we still call them that? Has anyone still got a telegraph in useHuh) near you..................... Grin
Community Veteran
Posts: 4,757
Thanks: 1,048
Fixes: 27
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

As welcome as it may be it could end up causing all manner of issues especially where road works are concerned, I don't think for a minute that the competitors who want to lay cables along the same route will meet in a bid to work together to reduce their costs and disruption. More likely a free for all with them trampling over each other in a bid to be first.
@twocvbloke - Shutter might  Grin
Community Veteran
Posts: 16,834
Thanks: 1,124
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

@ twocvbloke    Certainly do, and use it every day ......
https://www.flickr.com/photos/32369450@N02/22774770776/
and here is one I made earlier (late last year ).  https://www.flickr.com/photos/32369450@N02/24206662476/
and another one... just for fun.....  but it does work ! ! !..    https://www.flickr.com/photos/32369450@N02/23301507386/

Oh, Yes.... I do have a "telegraph pole" outside my house ! ! ! ! 
Steve
Pro
Posts: 6,681
Thanks: 247
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

Your description doesn't say you use the pole but rather a laptop with CWCOM software.
Community Veteran
Posts: 16,834
Thanks: 1,124
Fixes: 13
Registered: 06-11-2007

Re: Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

erm.... telegraph key connected to laptop...... laptop connected to phone line... ... phone line supported by telegraph pole....  ? ? ? ? ? ?    Roll eyes Roll eyes
Steve
Pro
Posts: 6,681
Thanks: 247
Registered: 13-07-2009

Re: Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

Grin
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,585
Thanks: 974
Fixes: 8
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

I wonder if the bit about compensation for poor line service now to be automatic AND direct to the consumer will apply to Plusnet supplied lines?
I'm a bit sceptical - but optimistic that this will be a good move.
M
CX
Grafter
Posts: 745
Thanks: 2
Registered: 16-09-2010

Re: Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

Having dealt with one of the smaller local fibre companies (in a professional capacity), this scares me.
They were incompetent. At the end of their disorganised project, nobody had any idea where exactly their new ducts ran, and after pestering them time and time again, they still couldn't provide drawings. They made a mess of the existing ducts.
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,321
Thanks: 467
Fixes: 1
Registered: 21-03-2011

Re: Regulator tells BT to open up cable network

What's this?  BT OR engineers pole  dancing for a laptop?
Now Zen, but a +Net residue.